I’m a Stripper

Posted On April 20, 2007

Filed under Sewing

Comments Dropped 7 responses

I was a little intimidated about making this purse. I’m not quite sure why. Maybe it was the strips; could be the quilting. Regardless, I kept putting it off. Finally, I just decided it was time — and here’s what I made:

It’s really not as lumpy and lopsided as it looks! LOL! I used a fat quarter pack of Amy Butler fabrics from my fave quilt store, although I needed a slightly larger cut of fabric for the lining. I made the straps a little wider than the ones shown in the tutorial from Creative Little Daisy. (Love that blog!)

Because I used just a couple of strips from most of the FQs, I have some decent-sized scraps left over. Not sure what I could do with them, although I think they could be put to good use for something

7 Responses to “I’m a Stripper”

  1. AngelaS

    OOOOH! I like it!

  2. lisa

    Great Job! These bags are addictive!

  3. Jess

    So cute! I’m sure there’s lots of uses for your scraps. Maybe a doll quilt, or some of Craft Apple’s Patchwork Cards? http://craftapple.wordpress.com/2006/08/23/quilted-cards-tutorial/

  4. Beebee Mod

    The bag turned out great. Maybe the scraps can be used to create animals on onesies?!? Hmmmmmm…of fruit or something!

  5. Angelina

    Or you could make pin cushions! I keep meaning to whip out a few pin cushions but keep getting side tracked.

    This bag is really cute!

    I need to make a few more bags myself. (I have only made one, which I do love. My local knit shop has acrylic handles with glitter in them which I really think I need to use.)

  6. craftapple

    The bag turned out really nice! I was nervous trying my first quilted bag as well, but it all seemed to come together pretty well. Now for your scraps: how about a purse organizer for your new bag, or a fabric envelope? :o)

  7. Kate

    I love the way it turned out. Making those types are bags are so fun. I haven’t made one in a while though. I really like the amy butler fabric!

Leave a Reply

