Sew What?

Posted On May 5, 2007

Filed under Ramblings, Sewing

Comments Dropped 6 responses

This sewing things is way fun. Love it, actually. I find that I’m actually irritable if I don’t get to sew enough, which is funny to me.

I share pictures of what I make, here and some other places I belong, and often am asked if I’ll sew for someone else. Always, the answer is “no.” Honestly, I don’t know if my sewing is on par with what I would buy; how can I sell my handiwork to others if I’m not sure I would buy it? Or am I just my own worst critic, seeing only flaws and mistakes as much bigger than they really are?

The idea, however, is there. I’ve dipped my toes in a wee bit, sewing a twirl skirt for one friend’s daughter and a halter top for the daughter of another. Now that I’m going to have a little more free time, I’ve started to consider whether or not I should — if I could — sew for other people.

So, those of you who sew and sell: How did you know you could do it? What do you wish you’d known when you started out?

On a side note, I’m thinking of starting my most ambitious sewing project to date this weekend. No details yet but if I can pull it off, it’s going to be way cool!

6 Responses to “Sew What?”

  1. AngelaS

    I knew my sewing was up to par based on the construction of things I see in stores, that I sew FAR better than many of those. (did you see the hideously sewn Hanna Andersson skirt I posted??) It took me a LONG time to sew for others tho, because I am also my own worst critic and I’m far more apt to do gobs of seam ripping on something I’m selling than on something my own kids will wear. LOL It takes practice and after a while, you’re just good enough. 😉

  2. Juliann

    Just found your blog from seeing some of the first aid kits in your swap on other blogs. Very fun! I see that you scrapbook too. I am trying to figure how to divide my time today as it is National Scrapbooking Day but I want to be sewing too. Such a wonderful dilemna.

  3. lisa

    I think that no matter how long you sew and sell, you always feel a bit vulnerable, in the sense that you put yourself into it, and it’s almost like you are on display, your creation, what is inside you. It’s kind of scary at first, but then you get lots of validation, in the form of repeat business. That’s what really makes me feel great, when someone has bought someting from you, and then comes back for more. But you are right, if you’re not sure if you would actually use your own product, keep trying to get it to the point where you would. The craft community is an awesome place to get tips and techniques. And have you seen the stuff they sell in stores? Not very good quality on the whole if you ask me. you’ll get there, practice, keep perfecting, and if you can test things out yourself first. I made purse for myself and friends, and found ways to tweak designs etc. But the thing is, it’s a process. You learn as you go most of the time. Hope this helps! (I think you are very talented already!)

  4. Beebee Mod

    I make things that I like. If they sell, they do, if not…hmmm, oh well. That’s how I approach my onesies. Some sell better than others. Once in awhile I will rethink my fabric choices. But for the most part all of those are the original thought. I really can’t stop thinking about what to do next. I have to keep myself and others interested. So I keep going. You’d be surprised. I think all of the items I’ve seen on your blog are great. Others will too. 🙂

  5. heidi

    i always sew for my own sanity. if someone else like it, or i can help a friend with a gift or a blanket, that’s just an added bonus. the best part of something handmade is the love that goes into it.

  6. gayle rush

    hi everyone. I am an intermediate sewer and do it for income. I am running out of ideas…….have done all the basic stuff. Are ther any web sites that I may have missed that has stuff to sew that I can sell. My singer futura embroidery is our of order more than in oreder so I am using a kenmore little guy right now. It does a few fancy stitches. God my Singer makes me swear. It was so expensive and it just keeps breaking. anyway any help would be hugely appreciated. (did jeans, aprons, rice packs, sunglass cases, tote bags, trinket bags,,,need ideas.

Leave a Reply

