Nevermind

Posted On May 12, 2007

Filed under Confession

Comments Dropped 4 responses

I got into my head the idea of making a pettiskirt. I’ve previously bought a boutique one for the little missy and, when I got a chance to really look at it, decided “I could make that.”

Have you ever decided you could make something but realized it was just more worthwhile to buy the darn thing? After two hours working on this pettiskirt, that’s pretty much where I ended up.

Yes, I can make one. I do not want to make one. It is a monumental pain in the rear.  The fabric is wispy and slippery, which makes cutting it frustrating and sewing it even more so. My not-enough-fabric-to-finish-the-project disorder reared its ugly head as I got close to finishing, which means the whole thing will get tossed into the UFO pile until I decide what to do with it.

In the meantime, I think perhaps I’ll go buy one.

4 Responses to “Nevermind”

  1. Jessica

    Awww… that sucks! …and yes I’ve had moments like that– lots of moments like that lately– when usually it’s people around me who say “why would you make that when you can just buy it”… to which I always reply– because if I make it I will like it better. I’m guessing in this case, if you BUY it, you will like it better. Hopefully you’ll find one on sale.

  2. Angelina

    There are a lot of things I COULD make that I don’t because the pay off isn’t good enough to warrant the use of what little time I have. The guilt I experience about not making absolutely everything I’m capable of making is annoying and I’m working on outlawing it in my head.

  3. Linda Warren

    Hello! I can’t afford to purchase a pettiskirt for my granddaughter, so I’d I’d like to make one. Can anyone please provide me with the pattern to make it? I’d be very greatful. My email address is linda.warren@hotmail. com. Thanks so much.

  4. Anita

    Hi!! I also would love to make a pettiskirt. I cannot see paying $80 to buy one when I could make my little princess one in every color. I would be very thankful if someone could send me a pattern. jajbnoll@yahoo.com
    Thanks and god bless

Leave a Reply

