Chip Chip Chip

Posted On May 14, 2007

Filed under Home

Comments Dropped 3 responses

That’s the sound of me chipping away at my massive to-do list. Now that I’m a woman of leisure, I am trying to take care of some things around the house that have been ignored. Some of the jobs are small and some are much more ambitious.

This morning, I pulled all the linens out of the closet, re-folded them and put them neatly away. Much better than the wad o’ towels, washcloths, sheets and table linens I’d found there.

Actually, I stumbled upon some gorgeous vintage pillow shams I did not realize I owned. I had rescued them from my mom’s house after she died and never even pulled them out of the plastic. I don’t know where they came from, where my Mom got them from, nothing. But the embroidered set is just beautiful and I need to figure out what to do with them. I had a Katie thrifting moment in my own house! ha ha ha!

That one success led me to attempt another item on the list: replacing the blinds in the baby’s room. (Yes, she is closer to three than birth but she will forever be “the baby,” so deal.) Have you ever had a job that you thought would be a snap, only to discover it’s actually much bigger? This was that job.

I have wanted to replace our vinyl blinds with faux wood blinds and Liesl’s room seemed like a good place to start, primarily because she has been messing with the blinds in her room (including chewing them). Also because her room gets a full dose of sunshine and warms up waaaaay too much in the summer.

I figured it would take maybe 30 minutes. Try two hours. I won’t bore you with the play by play, but will admit to my daughter walking in to check on me after she heard a string of epithets that went on — no joke — for two full minutes. I got them up, though, although I have yet to figure out how to clip on the faux wood valance. The oh-so-not-helpful diagram ain’t doing it for me.

While I was in there, I decided to hang the new curtains (bright pink) that match what will be her big-girl-bed linens and rearrange her room to keep the new blinds safe.

I’m ready for a nap.

3 Responses to “Chip Chip Chip”

  1. Stephanie

    Now that you mastered the blinds for Liesl, can you work on Alaina’s room? Lol! One could not even contemplate the torture she has put her mini blinds through!

  2. Kate

    Thrifting in your own house?? I should try that haha. Sounds like quite the project with Ms. L. Isaiah still doesn’t have any shades in his room and we’ve been in our house for over 6 months!

  3. Angelina

    For some reason, blinds and curtains always seem to suck up about 180% more time than you ever plan for. It’s like a rule of the universe or something.

    Sounds like you’re making progress though!

    Yay for your new “leisure” life!!

Leave a Reply

