On Display

Posted On May 19, 2007

Filed under Photography

Comments Dropped 4 responses

The love of my life took me to the museum’s monthly Friday night party yesterday so we could peruse the newly-opened Annie Leibovitz exhibit. The images are from her most recent book, A Photographer’s Life: 1990-2005.

I have long been a fan of her work, so to see it “for real” — not in a book or a magazine — was a treat. The book and exhibit combine her professional photography with personal images, kind of a juxtaposition of private and public that I found very moving. Any given photograph captures a particular moment in time, and to be able to be transported into that moment, to feel that emotion related to “then” vs. “now” is a little bit of magic.

As geeky as it sounds, I was moved nearly to tears on a couple of occasions.

I’m thinking about taking the big kids on a field trip to see it, maybe taking some cameras along so they could take some pictures after we leave. I’ll have to run it by them, gauge their interest. But I think it would be fun!

4 Responses to “On Display”

  1. Megan

    I bet it was a brilliant – she’s so amazing.

  2. Jessica

    Sounds Awesome – And I love your idea of taking the :big kids: on a trip and giving them digital cameras to document… I love the idea, in fact– as an avid scrapbooker I think you could incorporate writing/journaling by making them choose a few of their favorite photos and writing about them via a scrapbook or photo journal. Can’t wait to hear what you decide to do!

  3. heidi

    so, SO jealous! i would have loved to have seen that! and i’m glad to see that your son has some of your creative spirit!

  4. Beebee Mod

    Wow – That would of been amazing to see! You lucky duck!

Leave a Reply

