It’s Progress

Posted On June 7, 2007

Filed under Home, Organization

Comments Dropped 7 responses

I am 95 percent done with the craft closet. As the lovely Jessica pointed out, it’s a bit of a Harry Potter closet — but no padlock on the outside. LOL! That tiny space definitely creates some challenges. It’s how I ended up with an overstuffed closet to begin with.

I opted to remove nearly all the clothing from the closet, with the exception of my husband’s coats and my wedding dress. Honestly, he needs his stuff as close to the door as possible and I’m not willing to let my wedding dress take up that much space in my closet.

The remaining five percent will be organizing my fabric by color and theme (because I can’t have florals mixed with stripes mixed with dots). I also need a container to replace one that’s already in there, since it really doesn’t fit on the shelf. And I need a better storage option for my cones of thread. Otherwise, I think I’m more or less set …

Except for the part where some time after I closed the door and came upstairs, one of the shelves collapsed, spewing everything on the floor. Aaaaaaaaaaaacccccccccckkkkkkkkkkk! Yet another “the previous owners were idiots” moment, since the shelf is screwed into the wall but lacks the brackets installed on all the others shelves in the closet. What were they thinking? (Or not, as the case may be.) So I again have things piled on the floor. *sigh*

You can see all the photos on my Flickr. I actually created a set of them with some not-quite-before photos, as well as tags on the “mostly finished” photos. Enjoy!

7 Responses to “It’s Progress”

  1. Jen

    You are my inspiration to get organized. My closet is hidious! Ugh! I can’t believe you took pictures also!

  2. katie

    you are totally my hero for being so organized. Can you come to my house and help me!

  3. Jessica Chapman

    Yes, you get the grand prize. My shelf STILL is not hung, so my project is at a stand still. I think I may try to do it myself. LOL 🙂 Hopefully I’ll have photos at SOME point. …and love the fabric folding idea, I looked at that site and I will have to do that!

  4. Zabrina

    It took awhile for me to put organise my closet here. It’s not a walking closet at the studio and I had to get some bookcases. Now is better…organised like yours!!
    Thanks for visiting my blog! Come back always!

  5. Angelina

    Good work! And I share your pain about the collapsing shelf. That really sucks. But it’s easier to fix a shelf and put things back on it when you have figured out where everything goes.

  6. Niki

    Love your pics. The organization is great. I actually am having my dh work on a cabinet for just my fabrics..lovely! I have a contest going on over at http://nikisventures.blogspot.com/ (my blog) if you want to come check me out! Niki

  7. Getting Organized is Easy « Confessions of a Craft Addict

    […] little more than six months ago, I did a massive purge-and-clean of my craft closet.  Oh, it was so pretty! And I did manage to keep it that way for at least a […]

Leave a Reply

