Drop Five and Punt

Posted On June 26, 2007

Filed under Confession

Comments Dropped 6 responses

I had the best intentions today. Really, I did. I was going to get my (very loud) brakes taken care of, then come home and sew.

Unfortunately, what was supposed to be a two-hour trip to the garage was, instead, a nearly four-and-a-half-hour excursion. Thank goodness I was prepared. I had my book. A seam ripper and a dress I need to pull apart. Some fabric to match at the quilt shop. Podcasts loaded on my phone (and a fully charged headset).

I’m really an impatient person. Incredibly impatient. Unbelievably impatient. I will drive 10 miles out of my way just to avoid sitting in traffic. I’m also kind of an on-the-go girl; I relax by doing, which tends to make most people around me sort of crazy. Having to wait for my car for so long normally would be kind of torturous because, if I thought about it too much, I would obsess about all the things I could be doing instead.

Because I was prepared, however, I was able to keep busy. I spent the first hour at the quilt shop, chatting and browsing and just enjoying the process of selecting a fabric without having to rush rush rush away. Did a little browsing and shopping at the mall (although I continue to find stepping into Ross a nearly panic-inducing experience — just too much stuff that’s kind of everywhere and a general claustrophobic feel *shudder*). Survived my mediocre lunch at Applebee’s (why do I keep eating there?). Tried on cute shoes that I may actually go back and buy.

I also spent a little time working on embroidery. Nothing big; just a stitch book that came with a kit I bought. I have not done any embroidery in probably 20 years. Wait — I embroidered handkerchiefs for our mothers as gifts before our wedding 10 years ago. But that’s it. I’ve done some cross stitch (last in 1993 or 1994) — which we all know is not the same at all. Hence my need to follow the steps for these stitches. Backstitching. Chain stitching. Satin stitching. One after another, needle through felt. It was … peaceful. Calming. Good.

While sitting on a bench in the atrium outside Macy’s, a woman stopped to talk to me about what I was doing. See, that’s what I love about crafting — the connections. People feel drawn to see, to chat, to explore the commonality that is making something by hand. “I don’t remember the last time I saw someone doing that,” she told me. Said she used to do latch-hook rugs but had given it up. Misses the creative outlet but also the chance to de-stress, to unwind from her job.

Craft on, baby.

6 Responses to “Drop Five and Punt”

  1. Zabrina

    Hmm, no luck with cars here….I had some waiting moments on Sunday…
    Everytime I go to Joann, someone will ask me what I am going to do with the fabric and I will always chat with them…it’s good!

  2. Jen

    I don’t ever like waiting for a car. At least there were places to go and things to do. Latch hook rugs. Omigosh, do I remember those things! I am dating myself.

  3. Stephanie

    Ever since I bought my embroidered pillowcases I have been anxious to learn how to do embroider myself! I think I have a ridiculous notion that I need to personally revive all lost long crafts that I never see anyone do locally. I think it is great that crafts connect people that would have never met before. I always seem to chat with people in the fabric stores and we feel like old friends by the time we leave.

  4. heidi

    they should really stop putting fabric stores close to garages. i spent 3 hours at our garage with brake issues and an oil change. joann’s didn’t know what they awere in for. parker and i spent well over an hour and a half and bought very little. ahhh i love the shopping though. have a few things picked out and waiting for them to go on sale!

  5. Sadira

    I hate both Ross and Aplebee’s…they are horrible, and I refuse to go to either anymore (they’re in the same mall here, so it makes it easy to avoid) I once brought my knitting with me to the car dealership which was good, because they did take far longer than anticipated, and I got to meet the neatest knitter that was also sitting there! I love it when people stop to talk to you when you’re crafting, there’s something really neat about connecting with someone that way!

  6. Angelina

    I kind of sensed you had an impatient nature. I am constantly trying to convince people that I am really laid back and lazy and that my favorite thing in the world to do is NOTHING. This couldn’t be farther from the truth and generally no one is fooled. When I think of sitting around doing nothing it usually involves some kind of hand stitching or making lists while watching movies. Plus I tend to always be moving until after Max goes to sleep.

    Then I stop and go catatonic.

    I’m not patient either.

Leave a Reply

