Homework 1.2

Posted On July 18, 2007

Filed under Homework, Photography

Comments Dropped 11 responses

It rained this afternoon, pouring down for a good 30 minutes or so before clearing out. Perfect chance to head outside and try to take some more pictures for my homework assignment. Miss L was delighted to pull on her rain boots, raincoat and grab her umbrella to head outdoors.

I snapped more than 100 pictures, initially narrowed it down to 12 and then chose these five. Tell me which (if any) you like. Constructive criticism is always welcome — a girl’s gotta learn somehow! Oh, and you can click on each to see a larger version.

week1-2

week1-5

week1-6

week1-4

week1-3

11 Responses to “Homework 1.2”

  1. Steph

    I love the first one of Miss L and the action in it. Plus her umbrella, boots and coat…how cool are they!

  2. Leslie

    I like the first photo and the second. Maybe I like the first because I don’t know what it is, but I love the colors and the raindrops, and not knowing makes me wonder and look longer. Also like the second — the one of just Miss L’s boots. Like the reflection and the action. Wasn’t as crazy about the ones with the umbrella because it seemed to fight for position as the subject.

  3. Christi

    Wow, Mary, ok, I have looked and think I have decided lol. I like the first one. Like Leslie said, I like that I have no idea what it is but love the colors and the raindrops on it. I like #3 of Miss L. For a number of reasons really. I like that I can see she has a matching umbrella, shoes and coat. I like the symbolism – rain boots and umbrella equal wet day ๐Ÿ™‚ I also like that the reflections and shadow look good in this one. Did ya get any with her back to you holding the umbrella while it was raining lightly? I sooooooooo want to do this with the girls!

  4. Kuky

    I like week1-5, the movement of it.

  5. Sara

    I love the colors in #1. However, I think #2 is the best. I love the way Miss L is framed in the shot and the feeling of movement in the photo. The bottom three photos are good too, but they look staged to me.

  6. Helena

    I like 1,2, & 3. I think because they are all a bit off-center and it looks more like you are capturing a “moment” rather than setting up shots. To me, when you group those three together they tell more of a story…just my thoughts. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Erin

    My favorite is #3 because of the way it’s framed. Leads the eye well.

    I also really like #1. It’s a car taillight, right?

  8. Deja Vu « Confessions of a Craft Addict

    […] A few people have commented that the first picture in my most recent Homework post has them stumped. Without further adieu […]

  9. Dana

    As others have said, the colors in the first shot are gorgeour. However, I like the first photo of your daughter. The photos with the umbrella seem like there are two subjects, and you really only want one for this type of photo. If you could see all of her with the umbrella, then it would be one subject. Did that make sense? My degree is in photography. Have fun with your classes! It looks as if you’re doing really well!

    Dana

  10. Ellie

    How can you choose? All of the colors are yummy and each brings on their own imagination. Great photos!

  11. Tricia

    I SO need to know where that raincoat/boots/umbrella set came from and would very much like a complete picture of it! LOL T

Leave a Reply

