My Happy Place

Posted On July 31, 2007

Filed under Confession, Ramblings, Sewing, Shopping

Comments Dropped 7 responses

 I mentioned yesterday that I’ve been working on some big sewing stuff on deadline but was kind of vague about the details. I hate admitting this but I’m a little superstitious.  I was leery of jinxing something, even though I was assured it was definitely going to happen.

Today, I got a phone call asking if I could bring some of my wares to be checked out. To be honest, I was caught off guard. I really thought I would have at least another day, maybe even a couple more. And then the nerves struck and I wondered if everything would pass muster, if suddenly I’d be loading up my web site with things other than tutus.

In the end, things worked out as I’d hoped, and I’m very excited to announce that my tutus and sewing are available at a retail outlet beginning tomorrow, Aug. 1. Yes, if you are in the Atlanta area, you can shop for Flourishes tutus and apparel at Salon Red Kids in Decatur. I was so surprised that I didn’t actually take pictures of anything before I left, so you’ll have to make do with these snaps from my camera phone:

The top photo shows two of the preschooler totes I dropped off today (there are two of each pattern there now and I have four more to finish and drop off later this week).  They are the perfect size for smaller kids who need to take a bag to school/mom’s morning out. I’ll take better pics of the others and share them, too.

The bottom three photos show the three outfits I dropped off today. The two-piece set on the left is a Euro cord twirl skirt with a hooded tee. The tee has an appliqued flower made from the same cord with a button center. The middle is a wrapped apron dress (Anna) using the same matrushka fabric as the one I made for my niece. It’s reversible and can be worn three different ways (it would be more except for the placement of my label/size tag. On the right is a doily dress for a Japanese sewing book. It’s a linen/cotton blend and I’m tickled with how it turned out.

One of the things that appeals to me about this arrangement is that they don’t want me to make five or six of each outfit; limited editions and one of a kind are perfect for them (and me!). I have a few more totes to finish and a pile of outfits cut and ready to sew, so I’ll be scarce a few more days while I wrap things up. But look for lots of pictures later this week!

7 Responses to “My Happy Place”

  1. Jen

    Yay! Congrats on your entry into the brick and mortar world! :}

  2. Stephanie

    Congrats, Mary! That is a wonderful achievment!

  3. Sadira

    Ohmygosh! Congratulations…how fun! The pieces are wonderful, they are so lucky to have you as a designer!

  4. AngelaS

    CONGRATULATIONS!! I’m SO excited for you!!! Way to go!!!

  5. Helena

    Mary Congrats!

    The stuff looks adorable, looking forward to more pics!

  6. Felicia

    Congratulations! That is a wonderful achievement.

  7. Kuky

    Congratulations! That is awesome!

Leave a Reply

