Sew Much Fun

Posted On August 21, 2007

Filed under Ramblings, Sewing

Comments Dropped 5 responses

I’ve been camped out in front of the sewing machine for nearly a week. There’s a stash game at the sewing board where I’m a member and I’m participating for the first time. The goal is sew from your stash while not adding to said stash. Every bit of sewing earns you points; buying fabric subtracts points.

My goal is not to win; I’m simply trying to make it through the accumulated  yardage in my possession. I know a lot of folks are happy to own a big stash — I’m not one of them. I tend to lean toward the “collector” side of things and I really don’t want to do that again. (I’m still living with 1 ton of scrapbook paper — which has barely been touched in four years.)

The coat is just one of my stash game projects. I’ve also sewed another skirt for myself and Miss L’s wardrobe has grown by two pairs of pants, a skirt, a tee, two pairs of leggings to match two dresses and one pinafore to wear over one of those dresses. With luck, it may cool off enough to get pictures later in the week. Right now, it’s just too hot to expect an almost-3-year-old to parade about in long sleeves for the sake of Mommy’s camera.

Of course, I have to take a bit of a break this morning to get things ready for a consignment sale I’m in this weekend. I have big plastic tubs in the living room, along with a big pile o’ hangers, just waiting for hanging and tagging. I know you’re jealous.

5 Responses to “Sew Much Fun”

  1. Jen

    I have to go through all our stuff for a garage sale soon. UGH! But we are now a complete family and no need to keep things around! *Sniff* I am doing the same with my fabric stash, although I just purchased some more yesterday for the pjs. Use what you have is a great motto.

  2. mermaids

    i need to do a major purge of my closet. the boys’ closets get cleaned out once a season when we see what still fits….which is usually not much.

    ah, the fabric stash…..i try so hard to keep mine under control, but it is hard. you buy fabric way faster than you can sew it. good luck on the reduction!

  3. Sadira

    Congratulations moving through your stash…I tell you, I was just sewing this weekend, and I almost burs into tears when I was trying to dig through all the fabric to find something…I love it all, but it’s getting ridiculous in there! And don’t get me started with the idea of notions…I’ve got rick-rack for days!

  4. Jessica

    I’m so not a stash person as well… I love making baby quilts so I have plenty of childrens fabics… My goal is to make a great I Spy quilt out of it… but it hasn’t happend yet. Can’t wait to see all the goodies you’ve made once the weather cools!

  5. AngelaS

    Sewing board? I have an embarassing stash….

Leave a Reply

