Fit for a Queen

Posted On August 29, 2007

Filed under Sewing

Comments Dropped 8 responses

I’m trying to get as much sewing as possible knocked out before I leave for Chicago on Thursday. Today I managed to sew a pair of pants, an apron dress and two jumpers. Not too shabby!

I love this fabric from Jason Yenter. It’s called Princess Butterfly, and as soon as I saw it on the new products page at Sew, Mama, Sew, I sent a link to a crown-obsessed friend of mine. It’s an interesting way to approach sewing clothing for someone: tell her you found the perfect fabric and are going to sew something for her kid.

I was a little conflicted about the design of this jumper. I’ve had it in my sketchbook since January or February, and thought it would work great with this fabric. Of course, that was long before I saw a similar style dress included in the fall Matilda Jane line. What to do, what to do.

I made it. Two of them, actually.

I bought only one yard each of the crowns and medallion fabric, and a half yard of the climbing flowers fabric, so I had to be careful with the cutting and measuring. I also had only a fat quarter of the Chocolate Lollipop I used on the hem, so that also gave me a little of the sweats. Fortunately, everything worked out and I still have a teeny tiny bit of each fabric left.

8 Responses to “Fit for a Queen”

  1. Megan

    These are beautiful, I love the patterns you have combined.

  2. Christi

    OMG, Mary, these are stunning! And the fabric is absolutely gorgeous! Totally has a boutique feel to them! Love ’em!

  3. Faith

    What beautiful dresses! The fabric is unique, I can see why you liked it so much.

  4. Breanna

    Gosh, they are beautiful!

  5. Helena

    Wow, you are really making me jealous with all your sewing, how do you do it all?! I’m struggling to get orders done, never mind pleasure sewing!

  6. Erika

    Love these, they’re beautiful! I really love that fabric too. :o)

  7. Jessica

    Oh my! They are beautiful! I LOVE this fabric- you are knocking out a ton of sewing lately!! Way to go!

  8. Tricia

    Well since I am the crown obsessed friend let me just sing Mary’s praises! I LOVE IT!! She did SUCH a fab job!! Thanks again Mary!

Leave a Reply

