It’s Sewing Season

Posted On September 27, 2007

Filed under Bloopers, Sewing

Comments Dropped 19 responses

I’ve been sewing again — what a surprise! LOL! I love fall and I have so many outfits cut out that I may actually run out of season before they are all done. Yikes!

Got a couple of things done this week, one of which yielded a rather important lesson: Did you know twill has different sides? I didn’t until I found out that I’d sewed another paneled skirt with all but one piece facing wrong side out. I don’t know if anyone will actually get close enough to my legs to be able to tell, but I know (and now you do, too).

First up is a cute peasant-style dress I sewed for a friend’s daughter:

The main fabrics are from Alexander Henry, lucky finds at Joann’s. The green is from (I believe) Lakehouse and nicely matches the green in the big print. This is one of those “I’ll just sew it and send it” kind of outfits, so I really hope she likes it.

I picked up another AH coordinate to make a Halloween casual set for Miss L:

The pants are a modified Britches & Bloomers. I trimmed the rise a little bit, as well as the length, and also widened the pant leg a little bit so it was less tapered. There’s a rouched ruffle of the two dot prints at the top’s hem. Not sure what color tee I’m going to make for under it. It could still be warm enough for short sleeves when she’ll wear this, so I may hold off on making it until the last minute (which probably is also when I’ll get around to sewing on the suspender clips — they’re pinned on for the photo).

Finally, I share my little kimono cutie:

I actually sewed this during the Stash Game but am just now getting around to sharing a picture, mainly because my model refused to wear it and/or let me photograph her. Oh, to be almost three and that bossy!

The pattern is from Folkwear and really proved a challenge to me — not just because of the sheer size of the pieces. Some things just didn’t make sense, so there are some goofs with which I’m not too pleased. Still, it will fulfill its purpose which is to be worn to the Japanese festival this weekend  and then added to our dress-up wardrobe.

19 Responses to “It’s Sewing Season”

  1. Helena

    one word: WOW!

  2. Stefanie

    I love the pumpkin fabric. I am off to Joann’s hoping they still have it!

  3. AngelaS

    OOOOH, I LOVE the kimono!!! My girls would LOVE that! Where’d you find that pattern??

  4. lovestitches

    the kimono is amazing!!

  5. Breanna

    Gosh, everything is gorgeous! You are inspiring me to come up with a few new fall outfits for Laura. And that’s your little one on the sew mama sew blog today, right? Too cute!

  6. Jen

    So cute! You’ve been busy sewing away! I love how 3 year olds think they know what’s best. My guy just isn’t into the modeling thing. 🙂

  7. jessica

    What an adorable outfit!!! I love that fabric- so cute!!! Did you really make that kimono?!? Awesome!

  8. Melissa Garrett

    I am absolutely impressed by your craftiness! The outfits are adorable 🙂

  9. Angelina

    That polka dotted fabric is killing me! I want some!

    I was just wondering when you were going to make yourself some more clothes. Miss L. is very lucky to have so many wonderful colorful clothes.

    I find Folkwear patterns challenging always. I love their pattern styles but not the patterns themselves.

  10. sadira

    Egads! Those little Halloween outfits are too cute…I’m tellin’ ya’ I’m gonna’ come live with you so I can have some for me too! I saw that material at JoAnn’s and I loved it so much, and could not figure out for the life of me what the heck to make out of it…The kimono is wonderful too. Isn’t that funny? Those always look like they’d be so “easy” to sew don’t they? It’s usually the ones that look easy that are so challenging…dang it!

  11. Melly

    OH WOW!!!! That kimona is just adorable – and modeled so beautifully!! =)

  12. Faith

    I can’t believe you’re already done with Halloween casual wear sewing, you’re on the ball!

  13. Happy Zombie

    OMFG! HOW ADORABLE! Both of them! WOW!

  14. Kuky

    Oooh very very cute kimono. I wonder if I could get Isabelle to wear one…

  15. Christi

    Wow, Mary, that peasant style dress is to die for!!!! Just sooooooooo gorgeous!

  16. Tricia

    Adisyn received her dress today and she LOVES it as do I!! She wanted to know if the kitties would bite her…overactive minds of 3 year olds! Anywho…thanks so much…we love it and Adisyn kept it on all morning….

  17. Jessica

    SHE is adoreable… LOVE the kimono! 🙂

  18. Sarah

    WOW I love that Alexander Henry print …(wondering now I my JA’s has it!) the outfit is just beautiful. One lucky girl is going to be very happy to receive it!

  19. Josh

    Hello it was an absolute pleasure to come across, and read your blog. You really have some interesting information that I will have to share with my wife. If your ever looking for fabrics Lauren & I would be more than willing to help. Just let us know. Have a great evening.

    Josh & Lauren
    http://www.trendyfabrics.com

Leave a Reply

