Fun with Math

Posted On November 1, 2007

Filed under Ramblings

Comments Dropped 13 responses

Is the amount of time spent wearing a Halloween costume inversely proportional to the amount of time spent making said costume?

I ask this because the sweet Miss L made it to one house.

One.

Rewind: She’d been out of sorts all day and even took a nap (an incredibly rare occurrence these past few months). A bit cranky but she’s three and we all have those days, right?

We loaded up the car and headed to a friend’s house to drop off my oldest for a party. We trotted L up to their door so she could trick or treat, then headed to a restaurant for a quiet dinner au troi.

We got our drinks.

We ordered dinner.

L threw up all over Honey.

Who was still wearing his clothes from work.

Which are dry-clean only.

Poor baby.

On the up side, the cloak was next to me and thus safe from the biological disaster area aka Honey’s side of the table. We ate a lukewarm dinner from styrofoam take-out boxes on the couch after getting cleaned up.

There’s always next year.

13 Responses to “Fun with Math”

  1. Kuky

    Oh no! Yes on the positive side the cloak was a safe distance away.

    And we didn’t go out or see any trick or treaters. Alan had work and I wasn’t planning to open the door to strangers. Not even to cute little costumed kids. It just seemed like too much hassle. Me with Isabelle and my two 70 pound dogs to control. Eeeek! I was dreading hearing the doorbell ring. But it didn’t even come to that. Isabelle had a four hour nap today. FOUR HOURS! And when she woke up I guess all the trick or treaters were done.

  2. Amy

    The glories of motherhood. Tuesday I got a shower for the first time in three days and my little one choked and vomited on me not once but three times. At least I was clean for a good 10 minutes.

  3. alittlemoore

    I am so sorry that she missed Halloween. Glad the cloak was spared! Alaina is sick today too.

  4. Jessica Chapman

    Awww! Glad the costume was safe. I echo your thoughts, as I had a similar day– I spent two days at home with Camden while he was ill… and Halloween was just about as exciting for us– in costume for ten minutes, then nap and that was that!

  5. Angelina

    Poor girl. I hope she’s feeling better super soon. You know, girls tend to enjoy dressing up year round, I’m sure she’ll get lots of wear out of the cloak.

  6. Melissa R. Garrett

    OH NOOOOOO!!!

    I tell ya – a stomach bug is going around. Every member of my family, except my husband, has been affected. I told him that’s just evidence of who the kids love more. 😉

    I hope she’s feeling better today. 🙂

  7. Jen

    Yuck! All that work… I think the cloak will fit her next year. All kids have been under the weather. It’s that time of year!

  8. sadira

    Damn. Poor thing…I’ll chime in with you and everyone else when I say, Thank goodness the cloak was spared…There’s nothing worse than looking forward to a holiday and then hardly being able to participate in it…I hope she feels better soon…

  9. Breanna

    Yikes!!! Thank goodness the cloak was spared, it is absolutely gorgeous. I hope she is feeling better today…

  10. Leslie Marsh

    Miss L’s costume was beautiful. I’m so sorry that she didn’t get to show it off more, but as you said, there is always next year. Hope she’s on the mend and that you guys don’t come down with it!

    Really, so beautiful! You rock.

  11. heidi

    poor sweet babe! hope she is feeling better!

  12. Helena

    poor baby, but the tone of your post was pretty funny actually.

  13. Lisa

    Your sewing projects are so beautiful. You’ve been really busy too. The outfits are so cute. Love the striped one with the hoodie. Also that Red Riding Hood cape should be in a magazine. It’s gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

