Sew Fun

Posted On November 2, 2007

Filed under Ramblings, Sewing

Comments Dropped 5 responses

Thanks for the sympathies and get-well-soons. I ended up taking Miss L to the ped yesterday, who said it was not strep (hallelujah!) but something viral. She’s feeling much better today; still not up to full speed but definitely better than yesterday morning or the night before.

We ended up not handing out candy Wednesday night for fear ofΒ  spreading (possible) strep germs to the unsuspecting masses (OK, more like 40 people). I think I’m going to ask my neighbors if they would be willing to let L come to their homes Saturday to trick or treat and let them give her our candy. Not that I think she cares but my CF card in my camera wigged out and I lost the only trick-or-treat pictures I had from Halloween.

While the wee one was sick, I had a chance to sew up a couple of outfits to sell. I think they turned out pretty cute.

This little dress reminds me of an elf. I used a pretty Chez Ami knit. The dress is actually a morph of an Ottobre t-shirt pattern with a self drafted hood and skirt.

Oh, how I love the Anna pattern! It’s such a fun and versatile dress, and I think it sews up pretty quickly, too.

I found this adorable mitten fabric at Joanns. The black is the perfect background for all those colorful mittens and the glittery snowflakes. I like that it’s not so holiday that it can’t be worn for anything except Christmas.

(And, yes, it was warm enough here to wear short sleeves outside. It got close to 80 degress yesterday, which is about 10 degrees warmer than normal. Ugh.)

I wanted to make the dress even more versatile, so I used two different fabrics for the back panel, one more Christmasy and the other more every day. The dress is completely reversible and I really love how it turned out.

See? Pink on one side, red on the other. Miss L loves it; I think I will have to make something for her with this fabric.

Actually, I know I will have to make her something from this fabric, because I made a doll dress that matches the bigger one. Crazy, I know, but I couldn’t help myself.

5 Responses to “Sew Fun”

  1. Melissa R. Garrett

    Sweet! Sweet! Sweet!

  2. Jen

    Yes, those are very sweet outfits mary. Glad Miss L is doing better. P.S. – Did you like my little email on Halloween? πŸ˜‰

  3. sadira

    Still jealous that I would not look that cute in the things you make for Miss L (I don’t care what anyone says…plus, if I carried my teddy around…people might talk!) I’m glad the little one is feeling better…

  4. Jessica

    Love the stripey hoody dress! She looks like a peppermint πŸ™‚ Sooo cute! πŸ™‚

  5. sheree

    So cute. I have seen that Anna pattern but have resisted the temptation to buy it–is is so stinkin cute!!

    I hope you don’t mind, but I am tagging you!! No worries if you don’t like to play along. But if you do, please see my blog for details. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

