Completely Random

Posted On November 5, 2007

Filed under Ramblings, Shopping, Tags

Comments Dropped 4 responses

The lovely and talented Helena tagged me to share some of my favorite things and I never managed to get around to it. Oh, I am just awful at this meme business. And now the equally lovely and talented Sheree has tagged me to share seven random things about me. I think I’ll find a way to combine the two!

So here are the rules of which you must follow once tagged.

1. Link to your tagger and post these rules.

2. Share 7 facts about yourself: some random, some weird.

3. Tag 7 people at the end of your post and list their names (linking to them).

4. Let them know they’ve been tagged by leaving a comment at their blogs.

  1. My go-to, gotta have sweet is, without a doubt, Jelly Belly jellybeans. I’m not so much a fan of traditional jelly beans, but these are perfect little pellets of yum. I’m especially enamored of the Sizzling Cinnamon, Peanut Butter, Chocolate Pudding and Marshmallow flavors. And I’ve also been known to enjoy the occasional Tabasco and Jalapeno bean.
  2. Reading is probably my all-time favorite pastime. I read a lot, and I read a pretty broad spectrum of stuff. Sci fi, fantasy, cyberpunk, thrillers (but nothing gory — I don’t do gore and I don’t do horror), trashy romances, historical fiction, humor. Lately, I’ve been reading a lot of Christopher Moore, having been introduced by one of the dads on my son’s cross-country team.
  3. I really don’t have any friends from my childhood. Or high school. Or, really, past about seven-ten years ago. (Excepting Honey, of course.)
  4. Speaking of high school … my 20-year reunion is coming up and I’d sooner poke myself in the eye with a pen than go.
  5. I know I’m running the risk of offending my dear readers with this but … I love Kevin Smith. He is hysterical, his movies are a laff riot and Clerks: The Animated Series was brilliant.
  6. You know that item up there ^ about my reunion? Yeah, I can’t believe I am that old. When the heck did that happen? I swear, on the inside, I’m a good ten years younger.
  7. More favorites: I don’t work outside the home these days and pretty much live in jeans and tees. My favorite t-shirt is from Peace, Love, Mom (the Rock n Roll Mom tee) and it is perfect in every way — just the right cut, flattering and long enough that my muffin top doesn’t scare the world. I actually met two-thirds of the founders/designers/brilliance behind the company at Market earlier this year and they are so incredibly sweet and just fun, the kinda gals you’d love to go have margaritas with, if you could still drink tequila without flashing back to that Awful Tequila Experience. And I adore my Not Your Daughter’s Jeans (picked up at Nordstrom Rack for the amazing price of $26). I’m seriously kicking myself for not buying two or three pairs for that price!
  8. Bonus randomness: Miss L’s name does not begin with an L at all. Not her first name nor her middle name. It’s actually the first letter of the nickname which she is called all the time (OK, when we’re not calling her Bunny or Bitsy or Bitser or Bunnycakes or a hundred other random appellations.) We had actually intended to call her by her middle name but came across the nickname in a baby name book that said it was a German diminutive for her middle name. Since I’m half German and her middle name is for my Oma, it seemed serendipitous.

And now I get to share the love, so Angela, Katie, Sadira, Capello, Monica, Megan and Melissa — you’re up!

4 Responses to “Completely Random”

  1. Melissa R. Garrett

    OH! It’s been forever since I’ve been tagged for a meme, and now I have TWO to complete this week!! WOO-HOO! I feel like I am popular 😉

    I’m not so sure about your Jelly Belly addiction, especially the Tabasco and Jalapeno flavor . . .

  2. domestic chicky

    Delurking to let you know you are not alone in your Kevin Smith Love. I love Jelly Bellys too, but I am a huge fan of the buttered popcorn flavor & canteloupe…just not together- lol

  3. capello

    kevin smith is a f’ing GENIUS! 🙂

  4. Blair

    Responses:

    1) My bride loves the green apple ones.

    3) Can I at least be acknowledged as a friendly digital acquaintance from back in the day? 🙂

Leave a Reply

