Recap-a-rooney

Posted On November 11, 2007

Filed under Ramblings

Comments Dropped 3 responses

It’s nearly 10 p.m. on Saturday night and I am wiped out. It’s been a busy couple of days and tomorrow will be just as hectic. Not that I’m complaining — busy is a good thing. Busy keeps me out of trouble!
My Junior League put on its biggest fundraiser of the year today, so I put in a little volunteering time this weekend. Eight hours of it, to be precise. It really is a fun time and I enjoy the event, so time just flies. And the money we raise goes to support foster care children, a cause that really means a lot to me.

This morning, the whole family headed out and took part in a 5K. Honey’s firm paid our entry fees; the race benefits Legal Aid (one of Honey’s preferred charities). Oh, morning came too early. It was cold, too — at least for here (c’mon, it’s the South). We were advised to park near a church that turned out to be the finish line, so the walk to the starting line was close to 3 miles away. Most of it uphill.

Neither Honey nor I were prepared to run or jog a 5K, so we opted to walk with Miss L safely strapped into her jogging stroller. She objected loudly and frequently. I have to be honest and say that there’s really nothing I enjoy more than a peaceful stroll through a quaint neighborhood alongside the love of my life, punctuated by the shrieks of a three year old.

Our oldest wisely opted to ditch the fam and run like the cross-country superstar he is. It netted him a purty wood plaque, marking his second-place finish in his time group. (Overall, he finished fourteenth among the men.) He almost found himself stranded when, noting my less-than impressive 51-minute finish, he remarked, “Lost your competitive edge, Mom?”

Bite me, kid. We’ve got another 5K coming up in December and I refuse to have another 51-minute finish.

See you at the finish line.

3 Responses to “Recap-a-rooney”

  1. Jen

    He he ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Erin

    Darn kids always have so much energy! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. sadira

    Oh, it’s not too fair to have to walk all that mileage BEFORE the starting gun is it? I’m sorry there was a shrieker in the midst as well…you could have threatened her with making her walk…that may have quieted her down a bit…

Leave a Reply

