Chaos Reigns

Posted On November 12, 2007

Filed under Confession

Comments Dropped 9 responses

Lately I’m finding that I’m not getting as much done as I think I should. Too much to do, too little time. I really wish that were the case.

Instead, I find myself sucked off into complete time wasters. Mindlessly surfing the Internet. Getting caught up in a re-run on SoapNet (not only do they air Beverly Hills 90120 but Dallas!). Digging through piles to look for something I need.

I learned a long time ago that I need structure in order to function. Somehow the job of being a full-time mom has resulted in me shedding all the structure that I worked so long to build up. I mean, you don’t get much more structure than working at a publication. Deadlines rule, baby! Deadlines are what keep me on track.

Honey and I hit the cheapie movie theater tonight (99 cent matinee of The Bourne Ultimatum) and then went out to dinner, where I confessed to him my need for creating a schedule. And sticking to it. I am not a fly-by-the-seat-of-my-pants person; this haphazard way of doing things is just not working and I have the messes to prove it.

My goal this week is to come up with a workable weekly schedule that will help me stay on top of housework, get in regular (daily) exercise and accomplish necessary tasks. I’ve already figured out how to synch our online family calendar to the one of my MacBook, which I’ve think synched with the calendar on my burfday prezzie. I’m really hoping that getting things just so will show me where I have some free time for writing.

Writing?

I’ve realized recently that I miss writing. I truly never thought I’d say that. I’ve been an editor for so long; regular writing was just not part of my job description. But my last position included a fair amount of writing, the kind I had not done for years. And it kind of loosed this flood of ideas that I have yet to act on. Some little stories, some not-so-little. All of them still floating around in my head because I’ve let myself run amok.

While writing this blog yields its own rewards and satisfaction, I feel compelled to give in, to let these stories tell themselves.

Chaos, begone. I’ve got work to do.

9 Responses to “Chaos Reigns”

  1. Jessi

    So, I figured out how to leave a comment…hooray! Not sure why I couldn’t before…anyway – good luck with your schedule. I know I would probably do better with one, but I am so undisciplined in that way and always have been. and how are liking your iPod. I need a new phone and am thinking about the iPhone, but I have a nano now and i think I would want more hard drive space. Good luck with your schedule!

  2. Corrine

    WOOOHOO! You’ve got work to do 🙂 We all have those random days where we feel we’ve been so productive (NOT!) lol I’ve been having a lot more than I want to lately too..

    Corrine

  3. Breanna

    I have been struggling with chaos as well. I keep on thinking that “today” I will get my act together, but then I am drawn to some time wasting activity.

    Good luck!

  4. Melissa R. Garrett

    I have to have a schedule as well, a TIGHT schedule. And when I have all three kids underfoot . . . oh.my.goodness.

    All three are home for the Veteran’s Day holiday, and my son is about to give me a heart attack. And it’s not even 9:30 AM.

    Writing? Yeah, for me that’s going to happen at 9PM tonight. But, a writer’s gotta do what a writer’s gotta do in order to pad the bank account.

    I didn’t know you were an editor, let alone a writer. Oh, I would *love* to read what you create. If it’s half as spectacular as your photography and sewing, well, we’ll all be in for a treat.

    Wow! You’re the WHOLE package!!

  5. sadira

    Well, I wish you good luck on finding your rhythm…I get distracted easily and don’t usually DO something until I feel guilty about it, or it’s the last minute…I have gifties that need to be made…by this weekend…and cards…oh my. I need to write a schedule up for me too…

  6. Helena

    I hear ya girlfriend, I need structure too, when you organize your life so that you have more to do you just get more done, it’s so weird how it works out, I wish you luck and hope you share some secrets with the rest of us!

  7. Kuky

    Mindless surfing of the internet? Why I do that. Obsessively. When Bloglines wasn’t working earlier I went Aaarrg. Yes I think I did make that noise. AAARRG! I think I need more structure too. 🙂

  8. Jen

    Mary, you could be writing about my life! This is so familiar to me. Last year I made a New Year’s resolution that was very similar to your decision to create calendars and schedules, showing you where to fit in housework and exercise and writing time… I think I stuck to it for about 4 days before it all flew out the window.

    I love the IDEA of schedules (and I, like you, was VERY good at staying on deadline when I was in a work environment) — but it is so difficult to do when you’re left to your own devices.

    Let us know how it’s coming… you’re inspiring me to do the same.

  9. Angelina

    I am in essentially the same boat. You are inspiring me. I think schedules are great. In my life, everything falls in line after the writing. But that means that I have some unsavory smells coming from my kitchen this week and I haven’t folded a load of laundry in a long time. I need to get a better flow going around here too. Structure is good.

Leave a Reply

