It’s All About the Sked

Posted On November 13, 2007

Filed under Ramblings

Comments Dropped 7 responses

I sat down this morning and plotted a schedule for cleaning the house, as well as figured out what other things I’d like to accomplish this week. I’m kind of looking it at it as a work in progress, since I need to see how it works for me.

It appears to be workable  in a way that gives me the time to do the fun stuff I want to do (blogging, sewing, writing, playing with L), as well as the less-fun stuff I need to do (housework, laundry).

Today’s creative time was spent planning menus (three weeks’ worth) and doing a little bit of pattern tracing. Tomorrow will be my big sewing day. I have a few orders to fill, some cute holiday dresses.

I’m also trying to decide whether or not I’m going to do my Junior League’s Mistletoe Market this year. Last year, I made a bunch of tutus and brought them, only to sell just one. If I do it this year, I’ll probably make a couple of samples and just take custom orders instead. Of course, I’m also trying to decide if there are other things I could sew instead and sell. I need to decide by the end of the month, so if you’ve got any advice, feel free to share.

7 Responses to “It’s All About the Sked”

  1. Jessica Chapman

    Have you ever heard of Flylady? Search flylady.com and she has some awesome tips for keeping your house cleaned. If you do a few things a day you never have to do more than an hours cleaning at a time. I’ve been doing it for awhile and that’s how I get in so much creative time… 🙂 It really really works 🙂 Can’t wait to see what you decide on the three weeks worth of menus… will you share them? LOL! 🙂 If you DO decide to participate in the Mistletoe Market, why not sew things that you would also give as gifts to family and friends, so if you DON’T sell much, you already have your gifts done?!

  2. Helena

    If you don’t have stuff in stock already, don’t kill yourself trying to make samples or getting the orders processed in time for gift giving, I did it last year and should have spent the time enjoying the season instead of killing myself. If you’ve got the itch to create join a holiday swap, Just my two cents!

  3. jessica

    You’re pretty busy these days! You should so do the market. Like you said, take those custom orders…. no need to stress over a ton of things to make and sell.

  4. sadira

    Oh good for you with the menus…I totally need to do that! I am usually running around making the easiest thing (which usually results in the least healthy thing) instead of planning ahead…

  5. Jamie Lentzner

    I am so jealous I can not get a weeks worth of meals – I work out side the home part time with my own business…..and even then I am like duhhh when it comes to weekly meals. Your blog looks great, I look forward to following it.

  6. Lisa

    Wow, that’s some list. Good luck checking everything off. I always feel better when I accomplish everything on a list too.

  7. Krista

    I’m so impressed with your meal planning. I really need to sit down and do this too. We eat out way too often and that is even worse for spending money than daily trips to the store, eek. WTG.

Leave a Reply

