The Glamorous Life

Posted On November 16, 2007

Filed under Confession

Comments Dropped 6 responses

Looks can be deceiving. I often find myself almost apologizing for some of the crafty things I do. Yes, I take pictures and design fancy party invites and bake cakes from scratch — and I do it because I love it, not because it’s some way to impress people or make them feel inferior.

A friend of mine sent an email tonight, confirming the details of her daughter’s birthday party in two weeks. Included was this:

Perhaps I’ll get around to a real printed-in the mail- invitation.
What do you think?
Naw………
How you do all that you do is beyond me.

I replied:

If it makes you feel any better …
It’s 11:30. I have just finished mopping the kitchen floor and folding the laundry I did today. When I mopped the floor, I found that either L or the dog peed in there, most likely while J was doing his homework a whopping 18 inches away (not that he told me or cleaned it up). I had to do the toilet-paper dance because my dad will be here in the morning and no one told me we were out, so I relocated a barely used roll from downstairs. L has a Thanksgiving program at school tomorrow and I really wanted to finish a dress I had started for her so she could wear it. It’s 95 percent finished. The last 5 percent? Requires thread I don’t have. So I’m sending her to school in a dress with two holes on the side — and crossed fingers.

Oh, my life is so glam!

6 Responses to “The Glamorous Life”

  1. Jen

    Love it! Isn’t that the truth…dog peeing on the kitchen floor and no one saying anything! Ha! And we’ve done many toliet paper dances! šŸ™‚

  2. thedomesticdiva

    I get the same comments from my uncrafty sisters and friends. If only they knew what this Martha life is like…LOL.

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  3. Kat

    You know, if you call it “contrast stitching” instead of “thread that doesn’t match” it becomes a design feature rather than a mistake. šŸ˜‰

  4. Breanna

    Thanks for keeping it real! Don’t you just hate being surprised by puddles? It is sooo not my favorite part of motherhood…

  5. sadira

    YAY!!! A real person (although, I had an inkling…) it is fun to do things because you enjoy them…it doesn’t mean that you have everything all together all the time…this is coming from someone who threw the cat off the bed so she didn’t throw up all over me…but, I DID step in it later…ugh.

  6. Krista

    LOL, yup. We all have areas that we do not do good with. And getting to do the things we love is that icing that makes those other areas bearable. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

