See Mary Mess Up

Posted On November 17, 2007

Filed under Confession, Sewing

Comments Dropped 13 responses

There’s a reason I don’t sew after 9 p.m.: Invariably, I screw up whatever it is I’m working on. Over and over and over again, I’ve done it. I am a rather slow learner, it would seem.

Which is why it should come as no surprise at all that last night’s project turned into an eye-rolling “but of course!” moment.

I’ll start by telling you how I fell in love with this fabric. How I caressed it at the quilt store and immediately began dreaming up ways to use it. I decided to combine a few of the purple prints with a featherwale russet corduroy to make an Anna wrap dress. Very autumnal and bold.

I’ve been doing some sewing for other people, so it’s been on the back burner. Miss L’s Thanksgiving luncheon at preschool today seemed the perfect opportunity to wear such a dress. I set aside the works for hire and sat down at my sewing machine after putting the baby in bed. (It should be noted that she did not, in fact, go to bed at 8 p.m. — so I fully intend to blame all of this on her.)

When it came time to topstitch the panels, I realized I did not have any coordinating thread. Katie‘s suggestion for using contrasting thread is great but I always end up with wonky stitching that stands out really well. OK, she’d just wear it without the topstitching. It would only be a few hours, anyway. I pressed it neatly (well, as neatly as I could at nearly 11 p.m.) and hung it up in anticipation of putting it on her in the morning.

Miss Cranky Pants was happy to put on her new dress this morning, and even suggested going outside to take pictures. (It was a brisk 39 degrees.) I was thrilled! Right up until I realized that the fit seemed … off. Really, how does one mess up the fit on a wrap dress?

By making the wrong size.

Not only did I make the wrong size dress, it’s not even close. My sweetheart wears an 86/92 and it fits perfectly. For some unknown reason, I cut out a 110/116 and never noticed the difference. That’s right; the dress is four sizes too big but I could not tell, apparently because my brain shuts off at 9 p.m.

Here is my beautiful autumnal Anna, which this child may eventually grow into:

The moral of the story is: No operating heavy machinery — sewing machines included — after 9 p.m.

13 Responses to “See Mary Mess Up”

  1. Kuky

    It’s so disappointing when that happens. But as mistakes go it’s the best kind because she’ll grow into it. 🙂

  2. Jen

    She can wear it as a gown for now and it will grow with her into a dress one day. Very sweet fabric choices! Caressing fabric must be fun! 😉

  3. thedomesticdiva

    Too adorable! Can’t you just hem it up 6 inches? Otherwise just save it…for like 5 years…LOL

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  4. Tonya

    Unfortuntely, that is the only time I ever get to sew…

    the other night, I was insetting a sleeve, only to realize that after I had sewn it on, I had right side to wrong side….argggg! There is nothing that I enjoy less than ripping out a seam. I find myself wondering what it would actually be like ot sew and be awake sometimes!

    That dress is cute, nontheless!

    Thanks for your visit to my blog…

  5. Angelina

    And yet, she’s charming in it! I want to wear a dress like that! I also want to know how come you’re not making anything for yourself? Or are you?

  6. Jessica

    Ohhh No! They look cute though- she’ll grow into them… hopefully!

  7. sadira

    Well, shoot!! I still think it’s cute…and think of how lovely when she grows into it, thank goodness it’s not too small…just don’t put it somewhere where you’ll forget that you have it (sounds like something I would do)

  8. Lissa

    It could of been much worse, you could of made it two sizes SMALLER.. the dresses are GORGEOUS.. maybe ebay / etsy them if you dont want to wait for her to grow into them?
    I too have craft ADD and should not sew after 9pm.. I have unpicked curtains all weekend, as the repeat in the print wont match up with the pass I am adding.. argh, I am 1/2cm out, not much but enough for me to know it isn’t right.. I dont mind unsewing, but sheesh 3m’s of fabric at a time in poly thread?? it is something I have had nightmares about! LOL

    Lissa

  9. Jen

    Hi Mary — I tagged you for a meme on my blog. 🙂 Bye!

  10. craftapple

    It’s a pretty adorable dress, even though it is too big. I used to make tons of mistakes at night, but then night time is the only time I get to sew. So I make up for it by sewing really slowly, checking and rechecking everything. It’s not the most efficient way to sew…

  11. MLINAZ

    oh man – this is too funny reading this post – I did the same exact thing the other night. We were heading to see family out of state for Thanksgiving. I convinced myself that I could make a dress for my 8 mo. old daughter the night before we left. As my husband’s alarm went off the next morning, I was just sewing the zipper in – whew, I finished it! As my little angel woke up and I tried it on her, I realized that it could probably fit my 3 year old son! Oh well, it will be a good dress next year…or the next!

    I love following your blog – I totally relate to you!!!! 🙂 Thanks for sharing! After I came home from the craft store, I told my husband that I definitely have craft a.d.d.!!!!

  12. Shanta

    LOL that is too cute i always make boo boos like that when i get in a WOOO i can’t wait to see how this looks frenzy :)I have one question… on that dress is it like a apron? I guess i really don’t understand the Anna dress…. is the bow in the back really the only thing keeping it closed? or are those like “dummy flaps?” sorry i’m new hehe 🙂 but LOVE that dress…. so what size in US is that heheh my daughter is a 8-10 hehe 😉

  13. Happy Zombie

    Sooooooo cute! I like it that size!

Leave a Reply

