It’s a Mad, Mad World

Posted On December 1, 2007

Filed under Sewing

Comments Dropped 11 responses

Oh, blog. I have missed you. And I have missed you, friends. Just that time of year, coupled with a crazy amount of sewing for others. Good things, to be sure, but they keep my occupied and away from the computer. The Bloglines notification in my browser window gives me twinges of guilt, since I have barely read — much less commented — in a couple of weeks. Sometimes, it’s all I can do to keep up with the speed of life.

I’ll try to make up for it with some pictures to show you what I’ve been doing.

The store requested some stockings and I was happy to comply. They’re not as spectacular as Jessica’s but I like how they turned out. I’m completely in love with the Felicity Miller fabric in the middle. It’s just so fun and different. The vintage toys are really neat, too. And of course I love the old-fashioned feel of those ornaments.

Here’s Miss L and I on Thanksgiving day as we headed out to eat. I’m sure there are lots of folks who think it’s cheesy to dress alike but I like to, on occasion. My skirt is a wrap skirt pattern from Indygo Junction. The bunny is wearing a dress from Ottobre (if someone’s really interested, I’ll try to hunt down the issue) and a modified Ottobre packet tee. The fabric is a flocked twill from Joann’s. I bought it months and months ago with Thanksgiving in mind and I really love it. The cleavage top is from the now-defunct Forth & Towne. I’d planned to make a top but never got around to it. Lucky for me that I had no fewer than three shirts in my closet that matched perfectly. Kinda makes you wonder why I felt the need to sew one, eh?


For this dres, we’ll have to step into the hand way-back machine and take a trip to August and my participation in the Stash Game. Ah, good times. The lesson learned from that experience, however, was that cutting out tons of things and then sewing them is not the way I operate. I’m really more of a cut-and-sew-as-I-go kind of gal. This little corduroy number was buried in the still-not-sewn Stash Game pile. Cute, isn’t it? Notice how short it is? That’s waaaaaaay shorter than any dress I’d normally choose to put on that pouty little blond. Yes, she’s had a growth spurt since I did the cutting. Moving forward, I’ll probably pair it with leggings or jeans.

I do love the fabric, though. I picked it up at Joann’s (surprise!) and it’s so pretty. The flowers are embroidered. On a side note, when I went to my oldest child’s cross-country team banquet this week, I saw a teen-aged girl wearing an outfit made of the same fabric. I stopped by her table to compliment her on the ensemble and she proudly told me her mom had sewn it for her. Just made me all tingly! I wish I’d had the time to chat with her mom about sewing. Maybe I’ll run into her again. Obviously, we’re shopping in the same place.

Next up are a couple more things for the store. The left is a crayon apron made with more of that yummy Chocolate Lollipop fabric, accented with Michael Miller’s aqua Dumb Dots. On the right is a full-length apron from my Robert Kaufman stash. Sadly, it’s the last of the blue chickens. On the upside: I think I have about four yards of the same print in yellow.

And how was your week?

11 Responses to “It’s a Mad, Mad World”

  1. katie

    could she get any cuter? I swear, she is just so darling. I really love all those outfits you made for her too. And I love the stockings. And I adore that ornament fabric. Where is it from?

  2. Jessica

    Darling stockings- Love thoser fabrics too.

    You amd your beautiful little girl look wonderful! What great outfits and a lovely picture!!!

  3. capello

    you all look so cute! (you make the best damn clothes)

  4. Amy

    Your daughter is just such a doll. And those outfits? Frosting on the cute cake!

  5. Rachel

    the third picture (brown fabric with colorful flowers) what wonderful fabric!! I LOVE it!!

  6. sadira

    Oh, the stockings are wonderful! I adore the fabrics…then again, I adore all the fabrics you create with.

    I think you two look wonderful…and the fact that you match? I love it! You have the “adult” version of her cutie little outfit, which is better than the exact same thing…sometimes adults don’t look quite as cute in the same things…it’s just not fair.

  7. Lisa

    What great stockings-love the fabric. They look so cute all lined up like this. I also love the wonderful “mom and me” matching attire. How cute is that? Your projects are always wonderful. I really like the way you combine various fabrics in your projects and they always look perfect. Great browsing here.

  8. Jessi

    you and miss L look amazing! If I had a daughter, I would do the same thing!

  9. Heather

    I lurve Laurie too! Hey Victor! Hey Freddie! Let’s eat some spaghetti!

  10. Heather

    Oops. I clicked on the wrong post to comment! Oh well, I’m sure you figured it out.

    I’m green with envy over the aprons. I want new aprons and I want something hip but functional. Impossible to find in the store. Wish I knew how to sew! Those are so cool!

  11. sheree

    Oh, now I see where she gets that great smile and those gorgeous curly locks! What a sweet picture of the 2 of you. I have been admiring all your sewing projects also–they all look great!! Happy Holidays to you and your family.

    Sheree

Leave a Reply

