Vintage Goodness

Posted On December 19, 2007

Filed under Sewing, Shopping

Comments Dropped 6 responses

Before she became my swap partner, Jessi sold me a vintage pattern through her Etsy shop. (Isn’t it funny how things work out?) I sprinted to the quilt shop and picked out some fun Michael Miller fabrics (the Dick & Jane series), then came home and traced it and cut it out.

And there it sat. For months. Ah, yes. Another Stash Game No-Sew.

I finally made it a priority and I’m so glad I did. I love it! I’m already planning to make a couple more, including some short-sleeved versions for the spring and summer. Luckily, it’s a bit generous in sizing so it should continue to fit for several more months. Can’t you see it in a pretty swiss dot fabric with lace trim?

A close-up of the bodice tucks. I was a little nervous sewing them but love how they turned out.

“Hey! My feet are dirty! Maybe I should have listened to Mom and put my shoes on before running outside.”

Actually, looking at these pics remind me that I need to add a hook-and-eye closure above the zipper on the back of the dress. Hmmmm … actually I think that’s why we tried it on without: I have none and have failed to buy one in approximately 700 trips to the store between then and now.

6 Responses to “Vintage Goodness”

  1. sadira

    Oh…I just love it! The style is too wonderful…and of course the fabric selection is as well…Oh and the Model…she’s beautiful!! And bare feet in Dec.? Good heavens…it must still be warm down where you are!!

  2. Jen

    I love it. I am going to check her store out now!

  3. Kuky

    OOooh that’s nice! What a great pattern!

  4. Amy

    That is awesome! I love it.

  5. kristi

    I can’t sew my way out of a cardboard box, but I am in awe of anyone who can. Beautiful dress (and a beautiful little girl too).

  6. Leslie

    Cute dress! I love the tucks too!

Leave a Reply

