On The Road, Again

Posted On December 27, 2007

Filed under Ramblings

Comments Dropped 4 responses

The miles. Oh, the miles. And green signs bearing names like LaGrange, Opelika, Tuskeegee, Cecil, Troy, Elba. Yes, the road home.

I packed up the kids yesterday, took my middle child to his doctor’s appointment (the other two hung out in the waiting room), then headed out for parts well known, aka my hometown in Alabama. No Honey on this trip, so the two days will feel like forever. Especially with a three year old who does not wish to sleep.

I finally got her to conk out at 10 p.m., then attempted to go to sleep myself. Impossible to share a bed with her, even a queen-sized one. At 2:21 a.m., I’d finally had enough of the kicking and punching and complete lack of sleep on my part, so I rolled out of that bed and got in the other one (we’re staying at a hotel; the boys are at their Grandma’s, sleeping on an air mattress). At 2:25 a.m., Miss L woke up in a panic because Mommy was not there. No, baby, I got tired of your WWE audition. Tucked her back in, climbed back in my own bed.

At 6:21 a.m., she fell out of bed. I have not been able to go back to sleep, but she’s conked out in the middle of the great big pillow nest I made for her.

It’s gonna be a long day.

4 Responses to “On The Road, Again”

  1. alittlemoore

    I feel your pain. I hope Miss L puts her kung fu sleeping habits on hold tonight and that you all get some rest! Most family get togethers require extra rest to get through them!

  2. Tara

    Hey, those town names are near us at Ft. Benning! Have you ever stopped at Angel’s Antiques on I-85 in Opelika? LOVE it! I’ve found some of the most beautiful antique textiles there. I lurve it there!

    Happy 2008!

    I totally hear you on not being able to share a bed with a little one. My 2.5 year old hogs my whole queen sized bed. I have to sleep on about 6 inches of the edge. Not fun.

  3. sadira

    OH my…I use to hate sleeping with my mom when I had to…she was always grumpy half asleep and said, “STOP moving!” in a very menacing voice…

  4. heidi

    oh i certainly hope you have survived!

Leave a Reply

