For The Birthday Girl

Posted On January 27, 2008

Filed under Sewing

Comments Dropped 15 responses

One of Miss L’s favorite friends from preschool just turned three and celebrated with a party yesterday. Great fun for her and nice mommy bonding time for me.

I had actually planned her friend’s birthday present for a few months but kept putting off sewing it until … yesterday morning. Yeah, I’m a procrastinator of the highest degree. Oh, but it was worth it when I finished.

The off-white fabric is a Japanese import featuring the characters Snow White & Rose Red. I actually bought the fabric because it reminded me so much of Miss L and her friend (one blond, one brunette). The red has small white dots; I picked it up at Joann’s. The accent fabric is Michael Miller’s Dumb Dot in turquoise.

I know I always so that I’m in love with an outfit and this one is no different. I have not yet sewn the one for my daughter and will make it just a little different — but not too much. I really like how this one turned out and I think it will look so sweet on my little girl, too.

15 Responses to “For The Birthday Girl”

  1. Melissa Garrett

    You mean to tell me that you just whipped this right up, on the day of the party?? Brilliant fabric – love it!

  2. Katie

    Ah, i love it! The japanese fabric is darling!

  3. Ula

    That’s beautiful! What a nice use of the Snow White. Now you are making me feel guilty because mine is still on my shelf. 🙂

  4. Lynn

    Very, very cute. What a lucky girl to get something like that for her birthday!

  5. Sarah

    SOOOO cute! I love the fabric so much and that blue with the red is fab! So funny I, like you said, tend to wait until the last second with everything, but it’s somehow when I do my best work! Go figure…. This dress is just scrumptious!

  6. heidi

    i adore this! love that i am not the only one who procratenates gifts!

  7. iknitipurl

    Adorable outfit!

  8. Jessi

    Love the outfit – the japanese fabric is so great!

  9. sadira

    What a fun outfit and I love the sentiment behind the oh so (why don’t I find this kind of fabric at JoAnn’s when I go?!?!?!) perfect fabric!!

  10. Cathy

    Another perfectly sweet outfit! It makes me wish I had a girl to dress up.

  11. Kuky

    Wow you sewed that up quick! I’ve been eyeing that fabric. Yes giving it the eyes because I can’t buy it. I just look and drool over it.

  12. Rachel

    oh how adorable!!! 🙂 love it.

  13. thedomesticdiva

    Too stinkin’ cute! I’m betting it was a HIT!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  14. beki

    How cute is that, and it was a gift? You give way better handmade gifts than I do!

  15. Helena

    The fabric is just so sweet, I love the japanese import stuff, it’s so different, also the set is cutie cute cute too!

Leave a Reply

