For My Valentine

Posted On January 29, 2008

Filed under Sewing

Comments Dropped 21 responses

I’ve had this Valentine’s set in mind for a while now but had not gotten around to working on it until today. It always makes me happy when something comes together the way I imagine it, although this outfit was not without it’s stumbling blocks.

Or, rather, block: my stupid serger. Normally, I love my serger. And through the majority of the construction process, it was great. Right up until it was time to do the lettuce edging, when it decided to snap my upper looper thread. Repeatedly. About halfway through the curve of the cuff flounces. And then the skirts. I was finally able to finish by going ssssslllllooooooowwwwwww until I was finished. It probably added an hour to the sewing time. Grrrr.

I did my first lined hood on this set and am thrilled with the results, so much that I’ll probably do it every time I make a hood, if I’ve got enough fabric.

The darling Miss L was happy to try it on for me but would not stand still for pictures. I think she enjoys the twirliness! Please excuse any dangling strings. I need to finish off the seams but decided to take advantage of my daughter’s willingness (more or less) to try on the outfit and take some pics.

I think it’s a great Valentine fabric, even though there’s not a heart to be found. I can guarantee we’ll be getting a lot of use out of this outfit between now and when warmer weather arrives. I’m even just a little bit sad that I used up all of the print, since I won’t be able to make anything else with it. Oh, well — it’s not like I don’t have a closet full of fabric to sew!

21 Responses to “For My Valentine”

  1. iknitipurl

    Adorable outfit! I love the Valentine’s colors without it being really “Valentine’s”. I still need to work on Scout’s dress, but I’m slow with my sewing, (since I’m still pretty new), so I don’t know if it will be done by the 14th. I’ll try!

  2. Katie

    Mary you’re amazing! I love that outfit. Especially the hoodie part. I’m thinking I might make Isaiah a few.

  3. Jen

    Oh my! Yes, I can see how this would take a bit of time. And the fabric is perfect. I get tired of just hearts for Valentines. Pretty flowers are much better. Hope she’s feeling better. πŸ™‚

  4. Blake's Mommy

    This is so cute! I love it! Sure would be nice if I have a girl that I could hire you out to make some stuff for her!! πŸ™‚ (Or maybe you’ll just have to learn how to sew jon jons.) hahaha!

  5. Melissa Garrett

    Mary, I love how bright your photos are and how professional they look. You are a genius!!

  6. heidi

    oh its perfect! i adore this set. and it is absolutely perfect for this time of the year!

  7. Ula

    I love it! What a fun print. Good job!

  8. alittlemoore

    Completion time might have been slow but the end result was way worth it! Looks incredible!

  9. Rachel

    I LOVE LOVE this! well, I love all the little outfits you make.

    PS – this fabric inspired a set of papers I made for a contest for Valentines day. it’s such a great fabric! see my blog for the papers.

  10. Stephanie

    Oh that’s just fabulous. I’m having a little fabric lust over here.

  11. Amy

    Love the sticker. We’ve just been Krogering too. My daughter subtly informs the cashier that she LOVES happy face stickers and gets a roll of twenty for her trouble. Then she sticks them all over the van window.
    What kind of serger do you have? Just curious.

  12. Kuky

    Hee hee I love her pose. πŸ™‚

  13. sadira

    The girl looks like a rock star! The new outfit is too cute, and was worth the extra hour (right?)

  14. Lisa

    Your outfits are always so adorable. I love the fabrics you use too. They’re always so lively and fun.

    Great project!

    Have a great week.

  15. thedomesticdiva

    oh my!!!! Great dress! She’s just too cute!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  16. Helena

    very cute, you never disappoint! your gal is becoming quite the little model

  17. Beth Buster

    oh my goodness! i love your outfits! i have been sewing for my daughter for 5 years now, but am just now getting into these “boutique” type of clothes. do you make up your own patterns? do you sell your creations? where do you find these fabrics? oh the list of questions i could ask! anyway, this valentine outfit is probably the cutest thing i have ever seen. really!

  18. Jessi

    so cute – makes me wish I had a girl! I love the skirt!

  19. rhembein

    THAT ROCKS!! Great job Mary!! Love the combo and style!!

    ~gyl

  20. mandy

    So cute! I always want to make something for Valentine’s Day and always wait until the last minute. Here I am just days away and still nothing. Hopefully this will give me some much needed inspiration to whip something up anyways.

  21. One Apron, Two Looks « Confessions of a Craft Addict

    […] I’m calling it my Proper & Punky Emmeline. The black-and-white fabric is Michael Miller’s Dandy Damask. I think the polka dot also is from MM, but couldn’t swear to it. The funky red fabric is from Joann’s; I bought it last year with the intention of making a punk-style Valentine’s outfit for Miss L but went in another direction. […]

Leave a Reply

