Cha-cha-cha!

Posted On February 11, 2008

Filed under Just For You, Thank You

Comments Dropped 49 responses

It’s my blog’s birthday! OK, technically my blog’s birthday was Friday, but I had houseguests and no time to devote to celebrating — hence the postponement. Kind of like when your birthday falls on a Wednesday and you wait until the weekend to party. Help yourself to a cupcake and let’s get this party started!

Thanks to all who’ve been reading and commenting during this adventure of mine. Your words and support never fail to make me smile. I’ve “met” so many awesome people in the past 12 months. And the amazing and inspirational work you’ve shared on your blogs and sites just blows me away.

So, what do you say we have a giveaway to mark the occasion? I have some lovely items — fabric, patterns, rubber stamps — that I’d love to send your way. All you have to do is comment on this post and tell me what craft you’d like to see me try (and then write about) in 2008. Doesn’t mean I’ll actually do it, but I’m always looking for fun ideas! (Please note that this giveaway is not part of my Send Some Love challenge; I’ve already been doing that. πŸ™‚ ) I’ll pick a winner (or maybe two or three!) on Friday.

49 Responses to “Cha-cha-cha!”

  1. Jen

    Hmmmm-

    I’d like to see you try gocco. You’re good at everything else, so I wouldn’t say like, sewing or something in that boat. Try gocco and I will try it too… Happy Blogiversary! Here’s to many more! πŸ™‚

  2. alittlemoore

    Happy Blog Birthday! That cupcake looks scrumptious! I would like to see you try your hand at a quilt. I love your eye for combinging fabrics and would love to see what textile goodness you could come up with in a quilt.

  3. Dianna

    Celebrate is right! You have such a wonderful little blog here!!! πŸ™‚ I would love to see you try batik. You have such an eye for design!! I know it is a painstaking process that takes some time to learn, but I honestly would just love to see your take on it! πŸ™‚

  4. Amber

    Happy Blog Birthday! Hmmm…how about a tutorial? That’s a craft right? A cute little sewing tutorial! I just love all your crafts so I just say keep making it all!

  5. Stephanie

    So did I miss the part where you handed out those yummy cupcakes?

    I think you should clay work. I’ve always been intrigued by it but I’m too chicken to actually try it. You know, like making beads and all that stuff. Not like potter’s wheel stuff. That can dirty. And expensive.

  6. Laura

    I agree that you should try quilting. I think you’d do great, and even if you botched it, I know your pictures of your attempt would still be fabulous.

    I also think you should try decoupage. I know it’s a simple thing, but there is so much you can do with it. Decorate furniture, lampshades, books… I love the possibilities that decoupage opens up.

    Whatever you try, I know I’ll enjoy reading about it. πŸ˜‰

  7. sadira

    Congratulations girlie!! That cupcake looks so darned good, that I am now a lot hungrier than I was (and fantasizing about making cupcakes to boot!)

    I think you should try making some attractive hiking/exercise short. I have been all over online and am terribly disappointed by what’s out there, yet totally intrigued by the idea of fabric that is 20 SPF…And with your fun fabric pairing, I’d love to see what you come up with…

  8. Amanda

    How about macrame? That’s gotta come back cooler than ever before too long, right? πŸ™‚

  9. capello

    i’d like you to harness wind so we can power our sewing machines green-ly. πŸ˜‰

    happy one year!

  10. mikawendy

    Happy blog-iversary! I love reading your blog and especially enjoyed the picture of Miss L and her reading partner recently.

    I’ll second the vote for quilting, or, if you’re looking for something on the paper-y side of things, then maybe paper cutting. Amy Karol (of bend the rules sewing) has some examples on her blog: http://angrychicken.typepad.com/angry_chicken/2007/12/post-1.html.

    Really complicated paper cutting just blows me away, but on a simpler level (like gingerbread people and snowflakes), paper cutting can be a kid-focused craft as well.

  11. Christine

    Happy Blog Anniversary!! Those little cupcakes look scrumptious!! Yum-yum…
    I’d love to see you try quilting too…one of my friend’s made this gorgeous quilt for our first-born, and oh how I wish I could quilt like that!!
    happy one year! πŸ™‚

  12. devilishsouthernbelle

    Happy Blogiversary! My own is coming up sometime this month, though I couldn’t tell you which day. I think I’ll just pick one at random! Or maybe it’s next month. See? I’m not even sure.

  13. Kat

    Thanks for sharing the last year with us through your blog! I think you should try knitting…when I try all I end up with is knots.

  14. jennbenn

    I think you would be good at gocco, or else I would love to see you make a quilt. Or perhaps, knitting or crocheting. Whatever you decide you will be great! Congratuations on your blog anniversary!
    jenn

  15. mysewcalledlife

    Love your blog, I read it every chance I get. Happy Anniversary! I like to crochet, have you tried that?

    Jacquie

  16. Devilish Southern Belle

    Oh….my comment was connected to my wordpress blog, which I never use anymore….sorry ’bout that!

  17. Becky

    Happy Blogiversary! I really enjoy seeing the things you make for your daughter so I vote that you keep on doing that.

  18. Nhi

    Embroidery would be fun. There are many cute Japanese Craft Books that have many designs to follow. You could add embroidery to all the cute outfits you make. πŸ˜‰

  19. Ula

    I vote for knitting too, because I’d rather watch a friend try it than try it myself.
    Did you make those cupcakes? Can I have one? Please?

  20. Blake's Mommy

    Happy One year to you! How about smocking (this may be the same as embroidery…I’m really sew-illiterate.) My mom used to do it on my dresses. I’m sure you could do it as an add on to some of the fabulous things you make for Miss L! πŸ™‚

  21. JaimeM

    Happy Blogiversary! Thank you for sharing all you do with us! And those cupcakes…yummmm! Okay, so I can’t recall if you’ve ever mentioned felting since I’ve been reading your blog, so I am going to go with that. πŸ™‚

  22. Jessi

    congrats on your year mark! How about some embroidery? Not sure if I’ve ever seen that on here.

  23. Beth Buster

    congrats! i’ve just begun reading in the last week, so this is really cool! since you love photography, why not start a photo journal of some sort for your next project? or sewing little boys clothes. i bet you could make boring little shirts and pants too cute for words!

  24. dangitAnge

    Happy Blogiversary!

    I was going to say smocking too (which is different than embroidery!). What kind of good Southern mama doesn’t smock??

  25. Nicole

    Yay! Happy Blogiversary!! I haven’t been around long, but have you done any hand sewing?? Like softie’s?? Or maybe knit or crochet.

  26. thedomesticdiva

    Exotic dancing? Only kidding…LOL! What about calligraphy? I learned it many years ago. It always makes a gift or card look extra special.

    happy blog birthday…now pass the cupcakes!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  27. Breanna

    Happy birthday! I haven’t got any great idea for what you should try next, but agree that a hand sewn project might be sweet.

  28. Apple Cyder

    How about a special quilted birthday placemat for one of your kids? I used to make elaborate cakes on birthdays, but decided that the time was better spent on something that is more permanent. So to mark my one-year-old’s birthday, I made a quilted placemat. Its a quick and easy project and will let you try your hand at quilting.

    Love your site!

  29. Missy

    I love to work with clay. It’s a nice change from the sewing machine and other stuff I do. You should give it a try!
    I found your blog through Jessi’s and I love it! I’ve just spent the past hour reading and looking at all your cool projects! Happy blog birthday!

  30. raesha

    Congratulations! I’ve been reading for quite a while, but I think this is my first time commenting. I think I made my way here from Happy Zombie….I’d love to see you post some tutorials for little girls clothes. My daughter is a little bit older than your sweetie and I love to sew for her.

  31. Samantha

    You know exactly what I am going to say don’t you. CROCHET! You would be great at it! And now you can learn from the tutorials on my blog, so it will be easy. I will even give you one of my books if you promise to try.

    xoxoxo
    Samantha

  32. Tammy

    Happy Blog-birthday!!!
    Love your blog! I too think you should do a little quilting or maybe some papercrafting. You have such cool ideas.

  33. Hope

    Happy blog b-day! Just keep making beautiful girl clothes that I can drool over! That’s all I ask πŸ™‚

  34. Cheryl

    Happy blog birthday to you and many more!! Give quilting a whirl…it is so much fun and very addictive! Just found your blog and it is wonderful!

  35. Bess

    Happy Birthday! I would love for you to do a tutorial for an easy embellishment for kid’s clothing.

  36. Be Mine? « Confessions of a Craft Addict

    […] forget to enter yourself in the drawing for some crafty goodies. You have until tomorrow to comment here. I’ll do the drawing Saturday afternoon (after running a 5K but before meeting friends for […]

  37. blop

    Congrats on the birthday….I’ll be glad to take the cupcake!!

  38. Beth

    I love reading your blog! The way you mix fabrics is fantastic – I’m gleening as much as I can from you! I would love to see you do some quilting and/or toy making. Can’t wait to see what you try this coming year! Thanks for the inspiration.

  39. Lynn

    Hmn, something you havent tried… I think I agree with Beth? Have you ever tried to make stuffed animals? I bet you’d do a great job. Happy birthday to your blog, belated, but happy nonetheless.

  40. Selena

    Happy Birthday to your blog. Let’s see, a new craft? How about making art from thrifted finds? I’ve thought about this but so far haven’t quite tried it. Maybe some day…

  41. Nichole

    I would love to see you make a quilt! You’ve got such a knack for putting fabrics together and seeing the potential in their pairings. I know you’d come up with something smashing. Love your blog, love the inspiration it gives me, and LOVE the adorable clothes you make for your sweet little Miss L. Happy Blogiversary and keep up the great work!

  42. Diane

    Happy Blog Birthday!!! WOW – your sewing is amazing!!! How do you find the time to get that all done? I love to sew too, but I always tell myself I have to get the house clean first (and my only place to sew is the living room) and I never get the job done – and now my kids are all grown. But wow, you sure do great stuff! And as for crafts – I would love to see any kind of tutorial – on anything, really! Personally I would love to know how to do photography better, and rubber stamping too. You know what else I would love to know how to do is to organize all this blog stuff, like what you wrote to who, cuz I forget what I said to who, etc., etc., and there has to be some way! Anyway – keep up the wonderful work, I enjoy the lurking here!!!

    Diane

  43. Krista

    Hurray Mary! Happy blog begining day!!! (sorry I’m a tad late)
    So what is your secret to keep at blogging? And taking those wonderful pics of yours…and how could you not with your sweet liittle Miss L model? LOL
    Yes, do try crochet. That way it’s a craft that you can take anywhere. I’d love to see the textures and colors you’d put together in that medium.
    And if that’s not an option hand embroidery or quilting take a close 2nd and 3rd on my list for you to try. πŸ™‚
    Ok, sorry for the long winded comment.
    ~Krista

  44. lifeasweknowit

    I would LOVE to see you do a quilt!! You have such a wonderful taste for fabrics- I know you could come up with something UNBELIEVABLE!! Your talent amazes me!!!

  45. Jenny

    I would love it if you would teach us how to make our daughters look as ruffly as yours! I’m loving that outfit πŸ™‚

  46. coffeechris

    Happy Blog Celebration! I really enjoy your blog. Would love to see you use your creative talents together for you and Miss L and make a Mother Daughter matching outfit(s) that are understated, and one notices in a charming way. The give away sounds awesome, Amy Butler pattern…goodies I have my fingers, toes and eyes crossed. Good luck on your 5K and have fun tonight.

  47. Alisa

    Quilting is fun! Maybe you should try that?

  48. Helen

    Happy Birthday. I just stumbled onto your website and I love it. Can’t wait to catch up and see more. Your “over the top” outfit was incredible!!!

  49. lisa

    Congrats on your blogiversary! I love quilting, and I think you would too!

Leave a Reply

