I’m Too Sexy For My Shirt

Posted On February 12, 2008

Filed under Bloopers, Sewing
Tags: , ,

Comments Dropped 11 responses

Please, try not to be jealous of the hotness that is me. I know that little peek of strap is just overwhelming. You’ll just have to control yourself.

I stink at self portraits and trying to take one with my monster lens and enormous external flash while using one hand is … well, you can see the results for yourself.

But that’s not why we’re here.

No, we’re here to talk about my February project for  Stephanie’s Sew for Yourself challenge. Don’t bother clicking around the blog for January’s project; it has yet to be photographed — with good reason. I’ll try to get a snapshot and share the results on Thursday (tomorrow is another Word-Free Wednesday).

This is a Kwik Sew pattern (3353, if I recall correctly) made with two jersey knit fabrics. I had high hopes for this pattern and am more or less pleased with the results. I do think I will size down on the next one. It seems a bit big in the chest area and neckline; I’m optimistic dropping a size will resolve those issues.

I also will not use a jersey knit — probably ever again. I spent so much time trying to get the curling edges to lay flat long enough to zip through the serger. Major pain. Or is that “may-jah”? Regardless, it was more of a headache than necessary. The fabric is very pretty, though, and reflects the current color and pattern fixation I’ve had going on for the past six or seven months.

Honestly, I think it does fit better than it looks in this picture. (The mirror, however, is just as dirty. ) The pattern includes a shorter sleeve version and a dress, so I’m sure I will make this one again with an interlock. There’s not a lot of topstitching and the next one may get a little more than the pattern calls for, since I’d really like to make sure certain pieces lay flat.

All in all, I think it was successful and I’m glad I made it. Two down, ten to go!

11 Responses to “I’m Too Sexy For My Shirt”

  1. Kuky

    Happy birthday to your blog! I don’t want to be entered into the contest because I already got a lovely tutu from you.

    And hee hee, the first paragraph of this post is hilarious. I have a self portrait in this exact pose trying to take a picture of my last shirt, dirty mirror and all. Ha! 🙂

  2. thedomesticdiva

    Adorable!!! I love the print!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  3. Shannon

    Your so funny:) I love this pattern might just give it a try too. Since I dont have a serger (yet) is this necessary?

  4. Jen

    You are too funny. And I do love the shirt. I think I may have the same pattern some where and started it, but of course did not finish.

  5. Jen

    P.S. I Hate Jersey…

  6. Kat

    I think the top is great, despite the photograph. I have a very similar pattern that I keep putting off sewing in favor of sewing smaller, funner kids stuff.

  7. Lis Garrett

    I love these styles of shirts, and I think yours looks great. I agree about sewing jersey – holy cow!

  8. sadira

    I love the style!! It looks like it’s a great fit as well…and I only sew with jersey when I’m remaking a t-shirt…but, I can imagine that it would give one quite a bit of trouble when sewing an entire garment…

  9. Stephanie

    I really want to try that pattern but I fear the finished appearance it will give my unfortunate bust line.

    PS I hate jersey, too.

  10. Krista

    I really like that. It looks great on you! I have a New Look one sitting here that looks similar…just trying to force myself to deal with that tissue again…and dreading it…oh how I love patternease 🙂
    ~Krista

  11. Angelina

    FINALLY!!! I’ve been waiting for you to make something for the hotness that is you! I think it looks great and actually…I might have to make one for myself too. I love this style of shirt. Jersey is definitely a pain to sew but nice to wear.

Leave a Reply

