Giveaway Goodness

Posted On February 18, 2008

Filed under Gifts, Try It!

Comments Dropped 13 responses

I tell ya, y’all are into quilting. Was there some kind of organized group voting going on? ha ha ha! More people suggested I give that age-old craft a try than anything else. To the left is the entire rundown of crafty suggestions, handily put in alphabetical order (what? my OCD scares you?). Yes, that means I plan to try all of them this year. Crazy? Probably. But I’m always up for a good challenge.

Thanks to all of you for playing along! It made me smile to read your comments and congratulations. I really did start this blog just to have a place to document my many projects. That so many people have come along for the ride is just icing on the cupcake! I look forward to sharing even more with you during the coming year, especially all the fun ideas you’ve given me this week. I’m sure more than a few of them will be filed under the “Bloopers” category, since I can’t imagine some things turning out too well without a goodly amount of practice first (crocheting, knitting, smocking — I’m looking at you). You’ll be able to check my progress via the Try It! category, and I think I’ll add my handy list to the blog so I have a place to visibly check off things.

And now … on to what you’ve all been waiting for: It’s giveaway time!

Rather than use the handy dandy random number generator, I opted to go a more old-school way. I printed out all your comments, had one of my assistants (aka sons) cut and fold them, then filled up a lovely bowl for a real drawing.

Congratulations, Lynn! You win a copy of Amy Butler’s Madison bag pattern, some fabric and a CD by an outstanding young indie rocker! Who knows? I may even be inspired to stick a few other things in the package. ^_~

There were so many comments and I wanted to share the love a little more, so I decided to draw three more names for some pay-it-forward-style gifts. During the course of this year, I will share the results of a few of my Try It! projects with these sweet commenters:

Congrats to Angela, Nichole and Apple Cyder! Y’all send me your mailing addresses and I’ll send you something special during the course of the year!

13 Responses to “Giveaway Goodness”

  1. heidi

    man! look what you miss when you don’t read blogs for a week. geez! i think i may steal your list! those are all things i have been wanting to try as well. i get stuck with my tried and true crafts far too often.

  2. Lynn

    Woohoo! Thank you!

    I think you’ll really enjoy some of the things on your list. I’ve tried my hand at quilting (horrible failure) and embroidery (didn’t turn out too bad. I made pillows that were kinda cute).

    Sadly, I have no idea what Gocco is. Guess I’ll find out when you post about it, lol.

  3. dangitAnge

    WhooHOOO!! You drew me!! 😀

    Quilting is fun. I’ve taken one class and I might just be hooked! 😀

  4. applecyder

    Wow-Thanks! I love your blog and look forward to seeing you try out some new crafty things. Your photos are great, so if you are looking to add to that tutorial list (as if that list isn’t long enough), I would love to see some product photography tips!

  5. Nichole

    Yeah – I am thrilled to have my comment drawn! What fun to look forward to a Mary-created surprise later this year. Thank you! I am looking for a link to your email to send you my address…I don’t see one. Can you email me (nkpartridge@gmail.com)and I’ll send you my mailing address? Thanks. Yes, I am one of those blogless commenters. Hmmmm……maybe someday.

  6. diannaleigh

    Congrats to the winners!!! 🙂 That sure is one big “try it” list! 🙂

  7. Ula

    Whew, you’re going to have a busy year! 🙂 Congratulations to the winners!

  8. sadira

    Congratulations to all the winners…but I think as we get to see all of the fun things you’re going to try…we’re all winners here!!

  9. applecyder

    I just realized, like Nichole, that I am unable to find your email address. Mine is acyder at gmail dot com. If you shoot me a note, I will be able to send you my mailing address. Thanks again!

  10. Lynn

    I’m in the same boat with applecyder and Nichole. I can’t find your e-mail address either.

  11. Helena

    what the heck is gocco?

  12. Jen

    Yes, I would love to try gocco. And your OCD…my non-OCD mind didn’t even notice you alphabetizing.

  13. Barb

    I really recommend class settings. I try to keep learning all the time, so I take classes at stamping stores (I learned soldering there even), or quilt shops (I made a bag there, among other things), adult school, etc. I took an art quilting class at a local museum. The ideas and opportunities are endless. This semester I’m even taking a gardening class at the local community college. But classes enable you to get other student’s perspectives, and that can be really wonderful and inspirational. My next class is going to be multi-media painting!

Leave a Reply

