Lazy Sunday

Honey headed into the office today so it’s been just me and the babies. Yes, I still refer to all of them as “babies” even though the older two have towered over me for years. Secretly, I think they like it; after all, they sometimes still call me “Mommy.”

Since conditions were right (a second camera operator) and the sun was actually out, I had J take a picture of me wearing my latest sewing-for-me project. These are the “muslin” I made for my first crack at Favorite Things‘ new Smarty Pants pattern. I did not hem them because I do not intend to wear them out of the house. Or likely ever. Nothing says “I have a big butt” like this fabric print. Why did I buy it? I have no clue. All I know is that I had enough of it to try this pattern without making some sort of hodgepodge clown pants because I had to use two or three fabrics.

But I digress.

I know capri pants are some big fashion no-no according to all those makeover shows but I don’t care. They are comfortable and hide my thighs, and they’re a bit cooler than jeans or long pants during the summer. (It’s not called “Hotlanta” for nothing.)

The pattern also makes Bermuda shorts and there are options for pockets and belt loops but I haven’t tried them out yet. And I’m not sure I will, since that style of pockets draws attention to my hips, which I’d prefer received a little less attention.

This is actually a pretty easy pants pattern. I highly recommend covering up the sizes and looking solely at the measurements to determine the best fit. Go by just your size and you may be disappointed. I know I would have been. Maybe “depressed” would be a better word.

Moving on.

The pants are only six pieces, which sounds like a lot but it’s not. Two front leg pieces. Two back leg pieces. Two pieces for the waistband. The waistband is two pieces because the back band forms a casing in which you insert elastic to fit the waist. The flat front waistband is a flattering look, and I like that the back fits closely so I don’t have to worry about someone seeing my Hanes Her Way.

Because these are a muslin, I didn’t do any serging of seams which did cut down the sewing time. Still, I made these pants from start to finish (cutting, pinning, sewing, fitting) in just a couple of hours. I think future iterations will be faster, especially because I spent a lot of time trying to figure out the assembly of the waistband. This is no fault of the pattern instructions; I’m just a hands-on learner and sometimes have to read the directions a few times, then practice with the fabric to get it down.

Favorite Things also makes these in a Little Smarty Pants version (which I also own) and I expect them to be a cornerstone of Miss L’s spring and summer wardrobe if they sew up as easily as I expect.

In other news, I added these Mommy & Me aprons to my Etsy today. I’m still loving the Heather Bailey Fresh Cut fabrics, accented here with a little Robert Kaufman floral plus a touch of grosgrain ribbon. I had originally planned to do the ruffle a little differently but I’m happy with how these turned out.

We had fun with our little photo shoot. I think L expected to keep wearing her apron as she played, since she dragged my mixing bowl and spoon into the living room. Sorry, kiddo!

13 Responses to “Lazy Sunday”

  1. thedomesticdiva

    Mary…those pants look so comfy…I’d definitely wear them! I love capris!

    Adorable aprons!

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  2. JaimeM

    Capri’s are a fashion no-no?! Well, then I am constantly a walking fashion faux pa! I love wearing capri’s and in Texas, much like where you are probably, they are a year-round wardrobe staple! 🙂
    Oooh! Lovin’ those aprons.

  3. Laura

    Oh man. Those aprons are to DIE for. Is the pattern your own? I’m seriously thinking Megan and I MUST have matching aprons now….

  4. nichol

    Oooooooooo, I like those aprons! I’m for capris too, definitely.

  5. Ula

    The aprons are beautiful!
    I love capri pants and I don’t CARE if they are a fashion no-no. 🙂 They are perfect for summer wear for an active mom.

  6. lisa

    You are a brave, brave girl, tackling pants! LOL. I can spend an entire day looking for a pair of flattering jeans and come home empty handed…hmm, maybe I need to start sewing some. Love the aprons,that picture looks like it came right out of Martha!

  7. Melissa Garrett

    Since when are capris a fashion no-no?? I *hate* my legs. If there is one part of my body that I could change, by legs would be IT. Therefore, I wear nothing but capris, even the two weeks out of the year when it is over 90 degrees. Plus I think my MIL has me convinced I will contract Lyme’s disease if I go out back in anything but long pants . . . .

    Love the aprons! 😉

  8. sadira

    oh wait…we can’t wear capri pants? These fashionistas obviously don’t live somewhere it gets over 100 in the summer time…cause, the way my body looks? I AM NOT going out of the house in shorts…and I can’t wear a skirt everyday…I love the ones you made though…

  9. Krista

    Very cool!!! Heehee (I suppose a little pun was intended there)
    I have been holding back purchasing both of those paterns and I think you might have pushed me over the edge! It’s so very nice to see them made by actual seamstresses 🙂 Can’t wait to see your later versions, oh, and Miss L’s versions too. I’m sure they will be TDF.

  10. Elizabeth K

    Those pants are cute and look very comfy. Just thing to wear around the house.

  11. Lisa

    These aprons are adorable.

    What a great picture too. My gosh this photo totally needs to be scrapbooked (along with the beautiful photos of your neice reading to your daughter-if I remember correctly).

    Love that Heather Bailey print too.

  12. Angelina

    I know your ears will be closed against this, but I will say it anyway: I think your figure looks good in these pants and this pattern.

    I think it’s true that capris can be unflattering because they do a peg-leg action and cut off visually in a place that can make a woman look shorter…but I wear them every single day. I generally roll mine up so that they are just below my knee. It’s a little more flattering. That would be your bermuda length. Try making bermudas and compare.

    All that said, you look good in these pants you’re never going to wear because you think they make your butt look too big.

  13. Lauren

    Capris are out? I don’t care, I’m wearing them anyway. Love your blog, by the way!

Leave a Reply

