Make It Stop

Posted On February 26, 2008

Filed under Ramblings
Tags: , ,

Comments Dropped 22 responses

I don’t remember when I got my first migraine. I do know that I thought it was just a headache. Painful, but just a headache.  After a couple of years, I finally realized I was having migraines, and around the same time every month. Somehow, it made it easier to deal with.

I have three “triggers:” hormones, low blood sugar and barometric pressure. Of those, one is completely within my control and the other is only an issue every 21 days.  Thanks to the Weather Channel, I can usually get some warning on the third.

My beautiful BFF has debilitating migraines. That’s her neurologist’s term, not mine. Her knowledge of pharmacology is frightening. It’s probably more frightening that very little actually alleviates her pain. I can tell from her voice — just the “hello” when she answers the phone — if she’s got one. They can last for days and she gets them far too often.

I’m grateful that my headaches don’t have that kind of ferocity or frequency.  Since my last pregnancy, I’ve suffered from far fewer migraines — and even those have been much shorter.

Until today.

It stormed here overnight and was still storming when I woke up this morning. I could feel it in my face as soon as I woke up, that telltale pressure that immediately clued me in that I had a headache. Not a migraine, just a sinus headache. No big deal.

At least it wouldn’t have been had two other things not happened: the weather system that continued to move in and the fact that I FORGOT TO EAT. Seriously, who forgets to eat? Well … I slept in, rushed to get Mis L ready for school and out the door, then came home to work on a custom order while she was at preschool. I got so caught up in what I was doing that I ended up picking her up late from school (by about three minutes). By 2 p.m., when I finally ate, the damage had been done.  The worst migraine I’ve had since 2003.

I can’t say that it wouldn’t have become worse, given this weather, but not eating sure didn’t help the situation. Honey has been very sweet but is annoyed with me for not taking better care of myself.

He’s got a point.

22 Responses to “Make It Stop”

  1. designonpost

    I can usually taste my migraines first. I know that sounds weird. It becomes just a metallic taste. I haven’t figured out what my triggers are besides hormones (it took me YEARS to figure out I have menstrual migraines…they started before my period ever started). It’s only been this year that I’ve gotten proper medication (God bless the person that invented Imitrex). I hope yours gets better soon!

  2. JaimeM

    Ugh. Migraines…they are awful things! I have had them my whole life….seriously. Got diagnosed at 5. Weird, I know. Thankfully I’ve got a great neurologist that has helped a ton. The weather related ones are really no fun. And I am so with you on forgetting to eat. Not a helpful thing for migraines. I do hope you feel better soon.

  3. KarenW

    I hear you… and prayers for a speedy recovery. Mine are hormone “sick” migraines that go on for three days, and food triggered migraine that don’t hurt but take my vision away. I second the praise for Imitrex. PS love your blog!

  4. Christi

    Ack! I feel your pain! I had some horrible ones back in 2003 when Kamryn was about 6 months old. Once my thyroid was sorted, I haven’t had as many but when I get them I can’t do much and find it hard to function. Hopefully yours is gone soon 😉 *hugs*

  5. Krista

    (((Mary)))

  6. Lynn

    I feel for both you and your friend. I also suffer from what my neurologist calls “debilitating migraines”… everyday. For almost 2 years now (will be 2 years straight, everyday, in July). I have good days where I can function almost normally, and days that my own voice hurts my head. I’ve even been hospitalized.

    My triggers are stress, hormones, and some foods. It’s not a fun time and nothing seems to touch it. It’s actually why I started back with crafting. I was told I need to spend at least 15 minutes a day doing something relaxing.

    I hope your head feels better soon. They aren’t any fun. *hugs to you*

  7. Kuky

    How awful, hope you feel better soon.

  8. Jen

    Poor you. I am so glad that is one thing I don’t deal with around that “time of the month.” Aren’t we special. Well big ((((hugs)))) to you and yeah, take better care of yourself. Maybe a special Christmas card will make it to your house today. 😉

  9. applecyder

    My BFF struggles with migranes and it seems just horrible. Hope you feel better soon.

  10. alittlemoore

    My mom suffers from debilitating migraines more days than not. I don’t know how she does it. She also has several triggers of which unfortunatley she can’t control most of them. I only get them a few times a year and the only thing that works is a dark room, a cold pillow, silence and a dose of imitrex. I hope you are feeling better soon.

  11. nichol

    Ugh, I’m sorry—that sounds truly awful. Even regular headaches are bad, and I can’t imagine one that hurts so bad that you feel it in your face. I hope you feel better soon.

  12. Jessi

    Uck – not fun! Hope you feel better soon!

  13. Melissa Garrett

    Migraines are the worst, and I’m sorry you had to deal with one.

    I got my first migraine in the middle of a college chemistry final. I seriously thought I was going to die, but I still managed to get an A on the final! The 45-minute drive home was just awful, and I ended up hugging the toilet for the rest of the day. Thank goodness my in-laws were over to watch the kids.

  14. sadira

    My mother gets horrible migraines that put her in bed for either a few hours or a few days…nausea and the works…she hasn’t been able to really narrow down any kind of triggers. Sometimes it’s eating too many allergy foods…but, it’s horrible! I hope you’re feeling better and that you take good care of you…

  15. Breanna

    I hope you feel better soon!

  16. Ula

    Ugh, I hope you feel better soon and you can take a moment to do something healthy just for you. It’s so hard to take care of yourself when you’re focused on taking care of all those other important people in your household.

  17. Megan Oltman

    Hi Mary – Fun blog! Greetings from a fellow migraineur and on and off crafter. Not eating is a sure trigger for me, too. I’ve gotten better at avoiding it as my kids have gotten bigger – when you have preschoolers it’s very challenging to take care of yourself! I’m blogging on migraine and related issues, love to have you come for a visit. http://www.meganoltmanfreemybrain.typepad.com

    – Megan

  18. Helena

    I’ve heard Immitrex works wonders, feel better soon though!

  19. mermaids

    for a long time, i was getting 3- 4 migraines a week. figured out a couple triggers, but it wasthings i could not control. tried imitex and others with little success. my dr suggested i try a beta blocker.
    OMG…no more migraines. not so much as a headache. gone. it is a beautiful thing. i had not noticed how much pain was controlling my life. i have tapered down to a very low dose….no side effects.

    good luck. i hope you find something that works. everyone is different, but i had not heard of using beta blockers for migraines….just thought i would toss out another option to discuss with your doctor.

  20. Elizabeth K

    I get migraines several times a week (got one now in fact), mostly due to the barometric pressure. I’ve eliminated all the other triggers but like you say there isn’t much you can do about the weather. I take Topamax every night and that helps with the intensity of them so that they are debilitating but it doesn’t help much with the frequency.

  21. thedomesticdiva

    oh no Mary! Hope you are feeling better today.

    My 14 yo daughter has been dealing with severe migranes for the last few months. Two days ago she missed school again. Well, the doctors have been dragging their feet trying to figure out a safe migrane for her (she has a liver transplant and needs a new kidney). I got so frustrated, I ended up picking up Excedrin for Migranes…OMG…problem SOLVED! It works within an hour! Give it a try if you haven’t.

    With friendship,
    Lisa

  22. gregg

    Weird! I had the worst migraine last night and this morning. My head was actually thumping this morning. felt like a jack hammer going off in my head! It has subsided a little this afternoon but it is still there lurking. I am afraid what might happen tonight.

Leave a Reply

