That’s Two

My hat is off to all of you who crochet. I do not have the patience to master it. Or even learn it.

This is no surprise to me. My mother taught my how to crochet when I was just a wee craft explorer, in the years before becoming an addict. I made many a snaky bookmark out of Red Heart yarn. Anything beyond that was more than my feeble skills allowed.

Not much has changed in the past 30 years. I can still do a basic chain stitch. Beyond that? Not so much. I did manage to make a couple of simple flowers last night, a circle of chain stitches with chain-stitched loops around it. I also have the beginnings of a coaster. I went with that since all of my attempts at building on straight lines resulted in misshapen curves and curlies.

Another one off the list, although much less successful than the last endeavor. I do believe I’ll leave the crocheting to the pros.

12 Responses to “That’s Two”

  1. Jessi

    I felt that way about crochet for so many years, but when I tried it last year, something clicked – suddenly I could do it! Now, I just need to learn how to knit!

  2. Leslie M

    Crocheting, knitting . . . they’re both beyond me. Glad you’re feeling better.

  3. Anna Walker

    Don’t give up!! While I did learn to crochet when I was about 11 or 12, it did not come easily to me at all. My grandmother had sent me a kit for Christmas, and though I tried to follow the instructions, all I got for my hard work was balled up knots! Then, a dear woman showed me how, very patiently, in real life, how to crochet, and I’ve been able to pick up the hook and go whenever I want to do so.

    Some of us are visual learners-we need to experience crochet, not just see pictures or illustrations. Give it another try-and find someone who can help you!!

  4. melissa@yummygoods

    that photo is awesome. I kinda want to eat it.

  5. Stacey

    I need to know how to, though. I need to know this and I need to know how to knit…until then I don’t feel very well rounded. In fact, I feel down right inadequate and that won’t do!

  6. Sylvia C.

    I think these little designs look wonderful!

    I wouldn’t give up yet.

    You could master the swirls and flowers and become renowned for them!
    πŸ™‚

    Sylvia C.

  7. Kim

    I think those are cute, and look how big L is, omg!!!
    Hey if you perfect that crochet thing, I have something I want to hire you for, for sure. πŸ˜‰

  8. Kuky

    I can’t get into crochet. I’m more into knitting. Well not like I’m doing much knitting nowadays, too obsessed with sewing. I’ve only gotten as far as crocheting a swatch. And mine didn’t look anywhere as nice as your little flowers.

  9. iknitipurl

    I am like you. I can knit. I can do a basic chain stitch, but beyond that call me stupid. I want to learn more, but for whatever reason my brain will NOT accept anything but knit and purl. Hats off to you for your project though, you got much further along than I would have.

  10. Krista

    Oooh, those are great! You have the hardest part down already. The tension! Your chain stitches look perfect. And for the record, I find the hardest part in a crochet project is the first couple rows…it’s a lot easier to hold and get a rythm when you have more “project” to hold onto. Try a hat. Miss L would look so cute in one πŸ˜‰
    ~Krista

  11. Laura

    I like the little flower. It would make a cute embellishment on a shirt or dress.

    Crochet is on my list of things to try. I even have all of the supplies. I just haven’t gotten brave yet. πŸ˜‰

  12. linnea

    I am so with you on the crochet thing! I am a knitter and have tried taking up crocheting a few times and for some reason my hands have no interest! This is the year though!
    I have been lurking on your blog for a little bit here! I love it! Thanks for all of the beauty, you are oh so talented!

Leave a Reply

