All the Shiny Pretty

The sewing expo is taking place here, through the weekend, and I spent the morning there. I went last year, just for an afternoon, but didn’t take any classes. This year, I got it together and registered for a couple, including a millinery overview and another on finishing touches for apparel sewing.

The hat class was neat. Dawn Anderson brought lots of samples in different stages of construction and covered choosing materials, basic stitching and fitting tips. It was a nice introductory lecture and I really got a lot out of seeing and holding the various foundation pieces. I’m a hands-on learner and that’s always a good thing for me.

After the class ended, I had a little time to go explore the expo floor and see all the goodies available for purchase. Wow!  Pretty much anything you could imagine for sewing, plus needle felting, knitting, crochet, embroidery — even scrapbooking. I was fairly restrained and walked out only $50-ish lighter, with three patterns and two yards of fabric in hand. And maybe a notebook filled with info about a couple of machines.

3 Responses to “All the Shiny Pretty”

  1. Kuky

    I didn’t know there were sewing expos! I will have to keep an eye out now.

  2. Shannon

    I didn’t know that there were sewing expos either. I am going to see if there are any in my area! Too cool!

  3. Dallas

    I headed out to the expo today, but left with only 3 fat quarters. I think next year I’ll try and take a class. It sounds like they had some good ones.

Leave a Reply

