Blast From the Past

Posted On March 10, 2008

Filed under Ramblings

Comments Dropped 7 responses

In today’s mail, I found a little surprise from my former employer: The proceeds of my retirement plan.

This came rather unexpectedly for two reasons:

1. I cashed out my retirement account when I left the company.

2. I left the company in 1996 — and have moved three times since then.

I’m not one for asking a lot of questions when money just shows up in my mailbox, but given the circumstances thought it best to call the resident expert on retirement plans a.k.a. Honey (who, coincidentally, practices exactly that kind of law).

I’m pretty sure he said it was OK to cash the check, although that was buried in the middle of a lengthy explanation of the hypothetical scenarios that may have led to this little surprise. He’s super smart and great at what he does, but after about two minutes, he starts to sound like Charlie Brown’s teacher to me.

Still, it’s good to know that $55 is mine, all mine.

7 Responses to “Blast From the Past”

  1. designonpost

    Woo hoo! Free money! Yay!

  2. Jen

    Hey…more to go toward the next sewing purchase. 😉

  3. Shannon

    Bwahhh..haa..haaa…Charlie Brown’s teacher….I am so glad that this happens to someone else when their husband talks about certain things:)

    I guess it is time to go and buy some more fabric!

  4. Shannon

    YAY! Nothing better than unexpected checks in the mail. Hope you do something really fun with it!

  5. sadira

    Awesome!! Now you can make a REALLY fancy case for the new sewing machine!!

  6. Lis Garrett

    Unexpected money is always nice, whether it is $55 or $550 dollars. Woo hoo!!

  7. Helena

    That’s cute! How about some new spring fabric!

Leave a Reply

