Party Sweets

Here’s the little cupcake dress I finished the other night. OK, mostly finished — it still needs buttons and buttonholes (any suggestions for button color?) but otherwise is done. Oh, wait. I need to rip out the hem and redo it. See how wonky it looks? It’s not just the picture. The hem really is that wonky. That’s what I get for sewing so late.

The dress is a pattern I picked up at the Expo (I can look it up if someone is that interested). Cupcakes are again from Sublime Stitching; I’m really enjoying that book and just embroidery in general. I have lots of ideas for other projects. For the record, I’m still plugging away on my crocheted scarf. I’m determined to have one wearable object, even if it takes a while. The experience has convinced me that I’ll need to sign up for knitting and smocking classes if I want to actually make something I’m willing to show off.

I think this dress will be perfect for all those special events and parties we’ll be hitting when the weather warms up. For now, it’ll be virtual party wear for …

Glitter Text Generator

Ultimate Blog Party 2008The Ultimate Blog Party! I’m joining the fun at 5 Minutes for Mom and taking part in this year’s global blog event. I even put up a nice glittery banner just for the party! The Blog Party is a great way to find other cool blogs and also win some pretty nifty prizes. I’ve already found quite a few great reads to add to my Bloglines, plus “run into” a couple of friends whose blogs I already read.

For those who are stopping by for the first time, I’m Mary, the self-professed craft addict. My blog is about a year old and documents my many adventures in crafting — some more successful than others. When I’m not crafting, I’m hanging out with my three kids or spending time with my very cute and tolerant husband (aka Honey).

What’s a party without food? Gotta feed my guests so I’m going to share one of my favorite recipes. It’s actually what I made for dinner last night! I found the recipe for Spicy Chicken Cakes with Horseradish Aioli in Cooking Light magazine last year and it was an instant hit with the fam. That’s no small feat around here, since there are five very picky eaters in this house. I have made a few modifications to the recipe, namely using Ian’s wheat panko breadcrumbs instead of making my own. I also use packaged ground turkey breast instead of grinding my own chicken. Martha Stewart can do everything from scratch if she wants. I have three kids, a husband who works too much and no interest in doing every little thing. We also like our aioli a little hotter, so I add a lot more horseradish. Enjoy!

21 Responses to “Party Sweets”

  1. Judy @ In His Grip

    Welcome to the party!!! Off to look around your blog. Come check out the party at my place.

  2. Michelle in Mx

    yeah it’s party time!
    Stopping in to say hi!
    Party on!

  3. Amy

    I love this dress. I especially love the cupcakes from Sublime Stitching. I received a Sublime Stitching kit for Christmas….I haven’t even opened it. I am feeling inspired.

  4. Kim

    Nice to meet you! Great blog! The dress is very cute. Come on over to my party and say hello. Happy Partying!

  5. iknitipurl

    Adorable dress. Love the cupcake embroidery. I’ve never done any, but everything I see the Sublime Stitching kits I always want to try. One day. In the meantime there’s learning how to sew, quilt and knitting. 🙂

  6. acupofjoy

    Sweet Dress!

    I’m inviting you to party with me!

    Win some chocolate from my-sister-in-law and I…we blog about CHOCOLATE…me from Australia…and her from Michigan. Here’s the link: http://thechocolistas.blogspot.com/2008/03/ultimate-blog-party-2008.html

    What am I doing in Australia? I married an Aussie…and moved to Brisbane, leaving my family and friends and all the right-side-of-the-road drivers in America.

    Win a handmade pocket place mat from my blog Comfort Joy Designs. Here’s the link:
    http://comfortjoydesigns.blogspot.com/2008/03/ultimate-blog-party-2008.html

    Want to know more about life in Australia? Visit my A Cup of Joy site where I keep up with my family and friends in America. Here’s the link:
    http://acupofjoy.wordpress.com/

    Happy Partying!

  7. Brenda

    Hello and thanks for the party. I enjoy all kinds of crafting to when I have the time. These days though I spend most of my spare time beading. If you get the chance stop by my place. Brenda

  8. Organized Mom

    Thank you for sharing – I love the dress … I have a sewing machine but I haven’t taken it out since I mad my sons halloween costume two years ago 🙂

    Have a great day and enjoy the last day of the party…

  9. learningpatience

    Love the title of your blog…and that byline – LOL. Me too! Cute dress too!

  10. JoLynn Braley

    Hi Mary,

    That’s cute – “I have craft ADD” 🙂

    Have fun at the blog party!

  11. Jen

    I am on the computer right now too! I love the dress. But I am scared that it would not survive a party too well! Especially one with chocolate cake! 😉

  12. nichol

    What a sweet, sweet dress. My vote is for red buttons!

  13. Jessica

    Ok… gonna have to join this party thing! I’m thinking pink or turquoise buttons… 🙂

  14. sprittibee

    Awesome blog! I’m bookmarking you! I’ve given up trying to get to every blog. 🙂 Come on over and party at my place! Nice to run in to you at the party before the clock strikes 12!

    Better get back to my carriage before it turns in to a pumpkin!

    Visit my party post at:
    http://sbees.blogspot.com/2008/03/blog-party-egg-stravaganza.html

    I’m giving away some Pysanka Easter Egg Sleeves that are fun to decorate your eggs with and very pretty (Russian and Ukranian designs).

  15. hope

    I love your blog, I read it all the time, but this is the first time I have ever responded. I have been tampering with the thought of my own blog, but I am not sure I need yet another time eater..(I have craft ADD too)
    I vote for red gingham covered buttons! Love that dress, I am going to have to try some hand embroidery on clothing…love it!

  16. Beth

    That cupcake dress is adorable! How are you enjoying the blog parties?

  17. Lisa

    What an adorable dress. What about a button in each color to match the colors in the cupcakes.

    Great project!

  18. sadira

    The dress is just wonderful!! Why do I always want the clothes you make for the girl? I just KNOW they wouldn’t look as cute on me…sigh.

  19. Melanie

    I finally have some time to make my rounds to the UBP. Sorry I’m a bit late, and thanks so much for stopping by my blog.
    I love your blog, I’m so glad I stopped by. Hope you enjoyed the party!!
    Our Happy Happenings
    Livin’ With Me

  20. heidi

    the dress is soooo sweet! wish i would have gotten my head out the clouds in time to join some of the parties!

  21. Results from The Ultimate Blog Party 2008 Group Writing Project } Group Writing Projects

    […] Noreen (Silly Mommy of 2 Silly Girls) 1403. One Day at a Time 1404. Pam 1405. Midwest Prep 1406. Mary — craft addict 1407. Mary — craft addict 1408. Jenny @ Homestyle Scribbles 1409. Life […]

Leave a Reply

