A Little Ginger

Posted On March 27, 2008

Filed under Sewing

Comments Dropped 11 responses

I have been anxiously awaiting the release of Sandi Henderson‘s Ginger Blossom fabric, and was so excited to be able to join an Etsy launch revolving around it. Just one little problem.

I didn’t know what to make with it.

I had plenty of ideas, but nothing that seemed to be perfect. And the clock was ticking. Finally, inspiration struck — and not a minute too soon, since I needed to get my listing up today. I spent all day making my idea a reality, then had to bribe Miss L to get the pictures done.

It’s a three-piece outfit with a skirt, pants and top. The ruffled pants are a beautiful, soft white cotton. I want a pair for me! I used the same cotton for the underskirt of the top; the bodice and overskirt are a pretty Swiss dot, very light and airy. I wanted something subtle to mix with the bold prints of the skirt, and also something really versatile and suitable for spring and summer.

The skirt uses two of the Caribe prints from the Ginger Blossom line. I really like how the two play off each other. The colors are so vivid and pretty, with kind of a retro feel to the prints. I’m thinking I need to pick up the Blush colorway to make a coordinating skirt for me!

We had fun mixing and matching the three pieces during our little photo shoot this afternoon. I like the different options and how it changes up the look so much by just using two pieces instead of all three. (I think the all-white pieces would look beautiful for pictures at the beach!)

11 Responses to “A Little Ginger”

  1. JaimeM

    Aah! I LOVE that! Super cute.

  2. Laura

    Love it. I’ve been drooling over the Ginger Blossom fabric line for weeks now. Beautiful job, Mary.

  3. Kuky

    This is such a lovely little outfit. And that fabric is so pretty.

    This past week I’ve been struggling to finish a shirt. Or I should say start. I’m sort of stalled. But wow look at everything you’ve made! That’s got me going again. 🙂

  4. nichol

    Adorable. I want an outfit like that, too!

  5. Jen

    This is perfect! Not too much, and I love the white all over it. 🙂

  6. sadira

    Oh…I just adore the versatility of this outfit!

  7. Shannon

    I adore this outfit!!! I love how sweet and flowy it looks. The all white combination is fabulous as well. Good work!! And adorable model too!

  8. Samantha

    Thank you! I decided to try and do something normal, since I’ve been feeling horrible for the last two days, so I came here to see some of your beautiful pictures and WOW! I love that! It is absolutely PERFECT! That band of wonderful color! You made me smile! Of course your precious comments always do, but you made me smile when all I want to do is cry. Thanks. xoxox Samantha

  9. Beth Buster

    could you tell me what name you use to sell your “stuffs” on etsy? i’d love to browse and what not, but can’t find how to get to your store. thanks!

  10. Sandi Henderson

    This is gorgeous! You completely hit the nail on the head with this one. 😉

    Sandi

  11. learningpatience

    Oh, I’ve been mentally drooling over this outfit since I saw it a couple of days ago! Just can’t get it out of my head! I love it so much!

Leave a Reply

