UFO Sighting

Posted On March 31, 2008

Filed under Confession

Comments Dropped 6 responses

I decided to make a princess dress for my Junior League’s auction this year. In typical fashion, I have waited until the very last minute (I need to turn it in tomorrow night). I decided to morph a Burda pattern that was similar to a sketch I did. I bought a beautiful dupioni silk for it plus a bunch of trims. This was gonna be one fancy princess dress!

Got everything cut out this afternoon and planned to sew the bodice before I went to bed tonight so I’d have all day tomorrow to work on the three skirts (silk overskirt, sheer embroidered underskirt and lining).

I was doing great until the sleeves. At that point, I managed to mess up so badly that the only option is cutting out the bodice and sleeves again — and I don’t have enough fabric. The silk is fraying with every breath, so there’s no ripping it out and starting over.

Thank goodness I have a mommy-n-me apron set sewn and ready to go, and can whip up a tutu and princess dress-up basket with my eyes closed. In the meantime, I’ve shoved the mess that is my failed dress in the back of my craft closet.  Oh, well. Win some, lose some.

6 Responses to “UFO Sighting”

  1. Kuky

    I was expecting to read about an unidentified flying object. 🙂

  2. Nichol

    How frustrating, I love your attitude though!

  3. Jessi

    I love your can-do attitude too – something not working out? just figure something else out, right?

    p.s. did you get my e-mail about the banner the other day? I hadn’t hear back from you, so I wasn’t sure.

  4. sadira

    Rats! At least you have your amazing talent to fall back on…

  5. Krista

    Oh no! ((Mary))
    Maybe a yr from now you can pull it out and cut it to a smaller size. (I have found a yr really does help the process LOL)

  6. learningpatience

    Oh no! Gotta love those closets (the ones that hide the unfinished projects from daylight until you can bear to pick them up again)! How ’bout a sleeveless princess dress…or strapless??? 😉

Leave a Reply

