Spring Sewing

Before launching into today’s topic, I’ll just touch on yesterday’s photo. Yes, the evil sock pile. I don’t match socks pretty much ever. I do so many of the chores (not that I’m complaining) and figure one of the tasks I truly despise can be done by someone else (the other is cleaning the bathroom; I’m still stuck with it). Since no one else likes to do it, we usually just end up pulling our socks out of the sock basket. Yeah, an entire laundry basket devoted to socks because we’re too lazy to match them and put them away. I pity my future daughters/son in law!

Moving on.

After Monday night’s dress fiasco, I woke up Tuesday morning without a sewing plan. It’s a strange feeling. I had a couple of customs to work on but am waiting on measurements for one and the fabric for the other was in the wash (it was slated for sewing today). I pulled out my Patternease and fabric, and went to town drafting an idea I’ve been stewing on.

It’s a sweet little two-piece set, a halter top and matching cropped pants. I really found a lot of inspiration in the fabric, to be totally honest. It just looked like something you’d wear on a warm, sunny day of lunch alfresco and a walk at the park.

The color is a little off in the pictures. The background of the two main fabrics is more pink, kind of like a pink lemonade. I really fell in love with the sort of Euro-style floral print and then when I found the coordinate — especially that groovy dotted swirl — I had to snatch them up immediately.

I always get a little nervous when I’m drafting a pattern but just held my breath and trusted my instincts that everything would come together the way I envisioned it.  The true test is always trying it on Miss L, and I was thrilled to see that it was a perfect fit. She, however, was far more interested in wearing something else and going outside to play. Of course! I had to bribe her to take this pictures by promising she could wear her new Target flip flops. Not sure how well they match the outfit but I’m not complaining.

I had a little bit of fabric left over, so I did add one of these to my Etsy.

13 Responses to “Spring Sewing”

  1. sadira

    Lordie…how do you not just gobble that girl right up?!?! The outfit, as always, is lovely. I am really digging on the stripes..and of course, the thongs!

  2. Lisa

    This is so cute. I love how cooperative your darling model always seems to be. Does she enjoy wearing these pretty clothes? I wish you’d try scrapbooking because you always have such adorable photos.

    You’ll have to let me scrapbook a page for you sometime. That will get you hooked for sure-lol.

  3. Alisa

    Very sweet. Great job designing!

  4. Krista

    Perfect drafting! Miss L is too darn cute, love the new flipflops too.

  5. nichol

    Your daughter is so cute. Her outfit is delightful! It’s okay about the socks. Especially since it’s getting warmer. Socks, shmocks.

  6. Melissa Garrett

    Yes . . . the dreaded sock pile. We have one of those, too.

    You have such an eye for fabric! Cute little number. 🙂

  7. Jennifer

    I found your comment on a website regarding Superscope Storyteller presents books and tapes. I have looked everywhere for these and can only find the books. In your comment you said you kept all of them and are transferring to mp3. By chance would you have my three favorites on tape? Sleeping Beauty, Rumplestilskin, and my most favorite Hans Brinker and the Silver Skates. The memories of these from my childhood are that they were very well acted out on tape and my twin sister and I listened ad nauseum. I would love to hear these again. Please let me know if you have any of these on mp3.

    Thank you so much,
    Jennifer
    gillybean316@yahoo.com

  8. kayellen

    Ooooh,

    That outfit is so darling! I wish my “curly hair” daughter was little again!
    I am sure it will sell fast:)
    Have a good weekend!

    kayellen.typepad.com

  9. Helena

    this is really gorgeous, you should always trust your instincts

  10. hope

    Suggestion for the awful sock pile. (Which we used to have at my house until I heard this suggestion) Buy everyone in your house their own kind of sock (Ex. son has grey toe, husband has black stripe at toe, etc) Throw out all other socks. After laundry simply put like socks in pile and put in whomever’s drawer. No matching required, and even if you end up with an uneven # no one will know…

  11. Dawn

    I too, have very fond memories of the superscope storyteller tapes from my childhood. I’ve been trying to buy them off ebay, but it gets expensive and they don’t come around that often. I’d be willing to pay you for a copy of the ones you have on mp3. Thanks!

    Dawn

  12. Shelly

    I would also like the mp3’s of the superscope stories. I am especially looking for Beauty and the Beast, Sleeping Beauty, and Jack and the Beanstalk, but I’d love to have anythin you have. I have fond memories of listening to these stories with my Mom!

    I will pay you for copies. You can email them or whatever.

    Please let me know!

    Shelly

  13. Saralyn

    Listening to Superscope stories are great childhood memories that I was hoping to pass on to my children. If you did put them on mp3, I would love to buy copies.
    Thanks!
    Saralyn

Leave a Reply

